1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

so....why no frame rate improvement?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by shaggydoug, Apr 11, 2005.

  1. shaggydoug New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So, I've got my ATI 9800 Pro video card OCed to 409.15/363.46 from 378/338. I've run an HL2 benchmark and show no improvement in frame rates. Actually some slower frame rates. Can someone explain this? Provide a link that would explain this? I've used benchemall to get the spec.

    My specs:
    Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz (2 CPUs) (hyperthreading, just 1 actually)
    Memory: 1024MB RAM
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    Card name: RADEON 9800 PRO
    Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6525


    Half-Life 2

    -steam -console -nosound -condebug -preload -toconsole -fullscreen -novid -width <width> -height <height> +timedemoquit BenchemallDemo
    Baseline benchmark:
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Filtering mode:Trilinear; Antialiasing mode: none
    640x480 not selected.
    800x600 not selected.
    1024x768 34.10 fps 1.560 fps variability
    1280x1024 30.08 fps 1.115 fps variability
    1600x1200 25.84 fps 3.488 fps variability

    Overclock benchmark:
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Filtering mode:Trilinear; Antialiasing mode: none
    640x480 not selected.
    800x600 not selected.
    1024x768 33.98 fps 1.702 fps variability
    1280x1024 30.73 fps 1.163 fps variability
    1600x1200 25.53 fps 2.851 fps variability


    Aniso benchmark:
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Filtering mode:Aniso 4x; Antialiasing mode: none
    640x480 not selected.
    800x600 not selected.
    1024x768 34.32 fps 1.190 fps variability
    1280x1024 25.64 fps 1.554 fps variability
    1600x1200 21.41 fps 3.308 fps variability


    Aniso Overclock benchmark:
    -----------------------------------------------------------
    640x480 not selected.
    800x600 not selected.
    1024x768 32.09 fps 2.573 fps variability
    1280x1024 25.71 fps 2.916 fps variability
    1600x1200 22.21 fps 2.595 fps variability
     
  2. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Benchemall... not one of my personal favourites. Try to use something like 3D mark or aquamark. Make sure that you are using the softmod drivers as well, otherwise the clocks will probably keep resetting. Some of your scores are improving.
     
  3. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Are you using the latest drivers, what did you use to oc with?
    You shouldn't need to change the drivers, my oc's were sucessful.
    Why don't you just use the benchmark that comes with cs: s
    and 3dmark05

    plus check that your on agpx8, check in the graphics card driver settings pages.
     
  4. shaggydoug New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I got the impression the softmod drivers were for non-9800 pros to activate the additional pipelines and had nothing to do with the clock speed. I have a 9800 pro which I believe has 8 pipelines according to ATITool.

    Am I incorrect?

    - shaggy
     
  5. shaggydoug New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    AGP is 8X. I did this using the ATI Catalyst 5.4 drivers.

    I did use the benchmark with CS:S and got about 4 frames a second better with OC (from 87-91). I'm using ATITool to do the OC change.

    - shaggy
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2005
  6. JaS New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    try using the omega ati drivers too i notice a marked increase in my aquamark3 and 3dmak2001 se and 3dmark 03 as well heres the link http://www.omegadrivers.net/ati/win2k_xp.php also if you have you max core and max mem you should set it to those while running the benchies if the lock up try lowering them abit till you get to your sweet spot lol remeber to turn fast writes off the driver install will prompt you when to do so
     
  7. JaS New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    oh remeber to use atitool to find your max clocks i set mine to scan for artifacts for 7200 sec
    that worked.and has been working since no stablity problems :cool: ... so far lol
     
  8. shaggydoug New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Already tried. The problem is I get a "black screen" during boot-up with omega drivers.

    And, this isn't answering my question. Why no frame rate improvement during the game HL2? My 3DMark scores do go up but what's the point if my in-game frame rates don't improve with OCing?

    - shaggy
     
  9. JaS New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    are you using ati driver from there site?
     
  10. JaS New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i had the same problem till i installed the softmod drivers ... for some resion my clocks would go back to defaults when i loaded a game even when i used ati tool to oc them be4 playing.even tho atitool said it took the oclock out of the driver it didnt ... atleast on my pc.i found out by ocing the card and then when the game loaded press the windows key and set the mouse pointer over the atitool try icon it will pop up a box showing the clocks for the card then you will know for sure
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2005
  11. shaggydoug New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    K....I'll try that and see what I get. Thanks for the pointer.

    - shaggy
     
  12. shaggydoug New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    "Windows keyed" out of the game. The clock settings in ATITool were the ones I set them too for OC settings. In other words, no dice.

    Also, I was using the ATI drivers from Omega. 2.6.0.5 (or is that 2.6.05?). I was told they were the fastest for ATI 9800 cards at the steam forums. There seems to be some issue with either RadLinker or MultiRes. When those are installed with the omega drivers, I get the black screen at boot problem.

    - shaggy
     
  13. JaS New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    im using omega driver 2.6.12 yea you dont need the other stuff like radlinker and multires altho i do use radlinker alot.sry the advice didnt help but you know now fosho
     
  14. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Removing the oc lock only works on some cards. The softmod drivers aren't just for unlocking extra pipes, their main purpose is to remove the clock locks in the drivers so your speeds don't keep going back to default! The omega drivers do this as well.
     
  15. JaS New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i think i figgured out why no frame rate change

    ok i did some testing hand heres what i got
    i used the advanced smartgart options for the ati omega drivers and turned agp write and agp read to off settings see pic ;) and rebooted after that i ran the aquamark3 benchmark and my results were the same with the card OC and not OC (the same being that both benchmarks came out asif the card wasnt overclocked)so check those settings and see if there off or on there under start -> all programs --> Radion Omega Driver --> advanced smartgart options just lemme know if this helps :rolleyes:
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Nergal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    243 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Belgium, Leuven
    The solution is so simple, I watched this post before replying
    to see if someone figuered out, seems....they didn't.

    The answer WHY HL2 doesn't run any faster is because it is CPU-based!!!

    That's right m8ie! It all come down to the CPU in the end.
    ofc you can achieve more fps with a better GPU, no doubt about it, but the FPS-DROPS will always be the same.

    perfect example, my friend has an XP2800+ with an 9600XT
    My bro had the same PC with an 6600GT.
    Same fps thou

    Or with me, I had an 9500@9700pro, now I have an 6800GT@Ultra
    Guess what, I still got the same fps drops.
    It even doesn't matter if I have AAX4 with everything on high-detail,
    or if I use a low cfg, I always get fps drops to 40 with a lot of people.

    only solution is to OC your CPU if you want to gain a boost in preformance.
    You can prolly OC that 2.8GHZ to an 3.2 - 3.6

    hell, I think a decent CPU can run hl2 with an GF4Ti


    http://home-12.tiscali-business.nl/~tpm74309/CSS/Nergal.cfg

    that's the link to my cfg if you want it (CSS)
    copy it to: Steam\SteamApps\(your steam-accout-name)\counter-strike source\cstrike\cfg
    just open console and type: exec Nergal

    then rename yourself:p
    and don't mind the cvar cheats, it was to improve the fps, but valve won't allow that changes anymore, so they just don't get changed.

    be warned thou, the sens may be to high and such:D
     
  17. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    I just thought I might add that my friend as an XP 2000+ @ 2400+ speeds, with a ti4200 and it runs flawlessly. (On medium settings & 10240x768).
     
  18. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Thats because the gf4ti are set to run at directx 8 (not 8.1 btw) in HL2. This therefore lightens the load on the gpu, just run 3dmark03 and see how badly the ti-series scores in comparision to its nemesis the 9700.

    Look at the back of the box of HL2. Recommended requirements:
    2.4ghz p4 or more
    512mb of ram
    and so on, you can't blame the processor if its 400 mhz more than the recommended. His problem could actually be caused by not defragging. Doom3 is heavily affected if you do not defrag regularly.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page