1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Socket 1156 cpu bracket

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by legends84, Dec 16, 2009.

  1. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    346 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    I am building a core i5 PC soon.. but i intend not to change my cpu cooler ( CM V8 ) for quite some time.

    one problem i had here.. if i bought the P55 m0b0..

    will my CM V8 need new 1156 bracket? will 775 or 1366 bracket fits it?:confused:

    i bought this cooler before 1156 release.. my CM V8 cooler package include brackets for AM2/AM3, 775, and 1366 only..

    thanks for helping.
    much respect:)
     
  2. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    you will need a new one the 1156 holes are bigger than 775 but smaller than 1366
     
    legends84 says thanks.
  3. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    346 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    thanks.. i need to buy 1156 optional bracket then..
     
  4. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Wait. Does the board have holes for both 1156 and 775 like the EVGA boards? If yes - no need for a bracket. If no - you need a bracket. Altho I assume it doesn't have the 775 holes.
     
    legends84 says thanks.
  5. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    346 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
  6. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    legends84 says thanks.
  7. Fizbyn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes is does, however the bracket on the back of the motherboard that bolts the CPU socket onto the motherboard interferes with the bracket such as with the Asus arctic square. Does anyone know if there is a after market 1156 bracket that i can get so i can still use my arctic square.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page