1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Socket 2011 Xeon

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Pestilence, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,603 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    So LGA 2011 is going to stay Performance and enthusiast only right? whereas LGA 1155 is from entry to....performance? or are there supposed to be some enthusiast processors released for 1155 that can compare to LGA 2011. Might be too soon for the info i guess XD
     
  2. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    LGA 1155 is Essential to Premium Performance(1st Tier, P1)

    LGA 2011 is Premium Performance(1st and 2nd Tier, P1 and P2) to Extreme

    On the server side it is the same

    It is best to look at the Wikipedia table of it to understand better

    Intel Roadmap Wikipedia'd
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2011
    a_ump says thanks.
  3. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,543 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    939
    Seems simpler to just say 2011 is to 1155 as 1366 was to 1156. We've been here before.
     
  4. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    I think we are missing something why has no one discussed the PPD in the background?

    [​IMG]

    If you get four of these Xeons for LGA 2011 you'll get 300K+ Points per Day in F@H
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011
  5. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    4 x 143000 does not equal 1 million... Our education system worries me
     
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  6. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    PPD+PPD Bonus from Bigadv is exponential

    http://www.linuxforge.net/bonuscalc2.php

    Project 6900

    TPF 6 mins 08 seconds(Might be higher might be lower)

    PPD: 324363.55
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011
  7. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,414 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    How are you getting 3m4s TPF? That bigadv is running on all 16 cores, not just one CPU. So I come up with 6m8s getting 324363.55 PPD with your app. Still not 1m.
     
  8. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    yay for AMD?

    thread discussing Intel's new Xeon CPU... plz...

    chip

    looks

    epic.
     
  9. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,414 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
  10. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    Didn't see that lol but damn that is slow....xD

    :toast:

    Sorry lol didn't see that it was a 2xSandy Bridge-EP only looked at the CPU-Z

    12 mins 16 secs 32T

    *cough* 7mins 4seconds 32Core <-- Interlagos ES A1 1.8GHz 2x16*cough*
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011
    Maban says thanks.
  11. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Do you guys seriously have to make that many posts to argue about PPD in F@H about a chip that's not even close to release?

    PM each other. This is just plain silly.

    I guess it doesn't matter though because this thread is completely without aim in the first place.
     
  12. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    :roll:

    Some people would want to know PPD

    It's an Engineer Sample scores only go up

    Edit: deleted some useless posts

    After Maban helped me figure out that it was a Dual LGA 2011 setup

    Fixed data in some posts as well thanks Maban lol
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011
    Maban says thanks.
  13. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Yes that may be so, but as far as I'm concerned this is all BS until the official release. It's silly that people are arguing about stuff they truly know nothing about. There are no hard facts on performance either way. That's all...
     
  14. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    /facepalm how many times do I have to say this it's not BS it is that it is not Final

    /facepalm Not going to bother on this one

    How it performs as an Engineer Sample is a HARD FACT

    It is that it is not going to BE the "Final Product" and because of that you get performance increases down the line once the CPU hits the market

    This CPU is going to be much slower than what the server market will buy in Q4 or H1 or H2 which ever when the Sandy Bridge-EP Xeons come out
     
  15. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    One thing i've noticed between the the intel and amd camps is this.

    Intel guys seem to ohh and awe at ES leaks

    Amd guys seem to be like "Oh it's an ES so it doesn't mean anything"

    It is what it is guys. ES chips especially a 3Ghz ES is getting VERY close to what your going to get for production models.
     
  16. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,581 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Australia
    Quoted from erocker

    Your thread title was sort of misleading. I changed it so it's more to the point.
     
  17. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    It's all good E. I always just figure a flashy title sparks more interest and clickability :D
     
  18. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    Well the fact is the Engineer Sample they are using is clocked for 1.6GHz?

    [​IMG]

    So, they are overclocking it

    Nice tweakable Turbo Boost though
     
  19. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    IT was my understanding Ser that they had 3 samples. A pair of B0 2.5Ghz ones and a B1 3Ghz Sample.
     
  20. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    Shockingly, the CPU they are showing is A4

    Till you/we get that actual CPU Picture not a stock photo

    [​IMG]

    Because it is showing a B0 2.3GHz CPU in this screenshot

    The B1 could be the same CPU but with a stronger turbo boost or higher stock clock making it a B0 CPU

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Same steppings and everything
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011
  21. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    How do these guys get chips like this? I want a damn ES sample.
     
  22. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    You need the motherboard as well

    They must be in a partner program or next to a fab place which they have friends inside with
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,584 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    This chip looks impressive. would like to see a 3dmark or something!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,560 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,500
    Location:
    IA, USA
    That's probably a blade center.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,653 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    but just because its intel xeon it means you'll hafta loose our home to buy it.

    andi thought amd had 12core opterons out already since a long time??
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page