1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Socket A Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by 3991vhtes, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    The old one got deleted...

    This is a hangout for all Socket A users. Or ex-users. I hope this will be a good place to chat about Socket A

    To join, you must meet these requirements:

    * Owned at least ONE Socket 462 system


    Members:
    • 3991vhtes
    • newtekie1
    • [I.R.A.]_FBi
    • Darknova
    • Cuzza
    • Wayward
    • rhythmeister
    • candle_86
    • InnocentCriminal
    • Craigleberry
    • KBD
    • pagalms


    Enjoy the club!
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2008
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH

    This is a hangout for all Socket A users. Or ex-users. I hope this will be a good place to chat about Socket A

    To join, you must meet these requirements:

    * Owned at least ONE Socket 462 system


    Members:
    1. newtekie1
    2. [I.R.A.]_FBi
    3. Darknova
    4. Cuzza
    5. Wayward
    6. rhythmeister
    7. candle_86
    8. InnocentCriminal
    9. Craigleberry
    10. KBD
    11. pagalms
    12. InnocentCriminal
    13. TomCat44
    14. p_o_s_pc
    15. Melvis

    Enjoy the club!


    The Socket A overclocks:


    3991vhtes -Athlon XP-M 2600+ Barton @ 3.19GHz
    Ketxxx -XP-M @ 2.55GHz
    candle_86 -Sempron 3000 @ 2.4Ghz
    JrRacinFan -Sempron 2400+ w/ L5 bridge mod @ 2.25Ghz
    jeepdriver- Rig #1- Athlon XP 3000@2.16GHz
    eidairaman1 -Athlon XP-M 2500+@ 2.25Ghz
    p_o_s_pc - Athlon XP 3000+@2.25Ghz
    Melvis - Athlon XP 2100+@ 1.85Ghz​
    Socket A Rig Gallery:

    3991vhtes' Rig: Vote here!!!
    KBD @ post #155: Link!
    pagalms @ post #181: Link!
    Craigleberry @ post #200: Link!
    eidairaman1 @ post #204: Link!
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2009
    grunt_408 says thanks.
  3. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Hopefully this can be as good as it was before it was deleted. If not better! :)
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2008
  4. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Eh, I guess no one has anymore interest in the Socket A club :(
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    I'll join the Socket A club. I still have socket A machines. 2 Athlon XP 2900+ and 2 Sempron 2600+ and an Athlon 3000+.
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,893 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    My dad's machine is socket A.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I owned me several 462 systems. This was my best one;

    XP-M @ 2.55GHz
    2x512MB PC3200
    Abit AN7
    SonicFury 5.1
    9800Pro

    I still miss it.
  8. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    What was the PR Rating on the XP-M?

    I had my Athlon XP-M 2600+ Barton @ 3.19GHz on an Abit AN7. 266*12
  9. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
  10. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Thermo accidently deleted it I guess....

    I heard the basiq power supplys are junky..
  11. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i think the basiq is one of those series from antec, (like the smartpower series) for antec, you want earthwatts, neohe, quattros
  12. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    on a tight tight budget and i neded a psu, recommendations?
  13. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    I like the SmartPower Series. I've used a recalled version for months and it still works :D
    (According to my friend who borrowed it and never returned it)
  14. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Oh noes. I was just overclocking, and Set the VCore to 2.3volts, and the board doesn't POST anymore :cry:

    I've tried clearing CMOS, but that doesn't do me any good... :(

    Abit AN7
    Athlon XP-M 2600+
    256MB PC2700
    SAPPHIRE Radeon 9600pro
  15. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    ouchy... open up the system and check the chip for obvious signs of it getting fried
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,722 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,867
    I've had mixed dealings with the Smartpower series. I was using an Antec case that came with the Smartpower 350w for my basic machine I would build for people, I have had a few fail, so I wouldn't recommend them, but I wouldn't completely avoid them if needed. I hear the Basiq series is even worse than the Smartpower series though.

    For a cheap 350w power supply I would go with an FSP power supply.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817104901

    That is not only cheaper, but has better Amps on the 12v rails. FSP/Fortron make very dependable power supplies.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    fsp makes great psu's, smart powers.. stay away from, if basiqs are like smartpowers, then STAY AWAY!!!
  18. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Ok well this isn't a Power supply thread....

    Plz change topic..
  19. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    haha true, transfer this either to the psu guide or to the other psu thread that i just came from lol
  20. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    My core is extremely reddish-bronze, and that's a sign of severe heat...

    Me thinks I should of used thermal compound....
  21. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    me thinks too as well

    so sorry for the loss man
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    No thermal compound!!! Not good .....
  23. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    I'll have to see if the chip is still good. Good thing its a mobile CPU, so I can test it in a laptop later tonight :D
  24. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    I was running Ceramique, but I changed heatsinks, and wiped it all off and I didn't have any laying around. :banghead:
  25. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page