1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Socket A Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by 3991vhtes, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    He's right, get some cardboard on all sides of that thing.
     
    pagalms says thanks.
  2. pagalms

    pagalms

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    Thanks for ideas guys ;)
     
  3. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Not a problem!

    ^^
     
  4. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Holy shit! I forgot to add you to the list, InnocentCriminal! Sorry!

    *edites member list*

    *feels better after i readded InnocentCriminal to the list*
     
  5. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    That might explain the random crashes I have been getting with this rig.... Still working all of the bugs out before I O/C any higher. How much voltage can these bartons handle?
     
  6. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Well, my mobile AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ barton could manage 2.1V
     
  7. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    Geez thats high volts man....
    And what do ya make of these temps?
    [​IMG]
     
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,445 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2008
  9. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    Wow man that is crazy stuff to do to my kids pc lol
     
  10. pagalms

    pagalms

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    What about coldbugs for socket A cpu's? Can i put some dry ice on them? I have an idea how to make a mini DI pot. :)
     
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,445 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    what are you talking about? 0_o'
     
  12. pagalms

    pagalms

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    Can soc A cpu's work under pot with dry ice (about -50°C)? Isn't it too cold for soc A?
     
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,445 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    i wouldnt know because ive always aircooled, problem is possibly the core may become brittle, also the extreme cold mixed with room temperature could cause moisture buildup thus frying the chip, but sure go ahead and try it, but id recommend a 3rd party bios, PC 3500-4800 DDR, and better cooling for the NB and SB, and also cooling for the VRMs and other chips that may get hot.
     
    pagalms says thanks.
  14. pagalms

    pagalms

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    Thanks :)
    I allready have Tictac's D26 Black Mantaray BIOS, DDR500 RAM, lapped NB and additional cooling on both bridges & mosfets near cpu + Vdd, Vdimm and Vdroop mods. :)
     
  15. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    holy shiz @ 128C

    the 42C is fine. I ran my mobile barton 24/7 @ 59C IDLE for about a month and a half
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2008
  16. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    All cause I don't like Dale Jr? LOL.

    BTW, post reported :)
     
  17. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    I know I am not too sure what it is thats @120 Deg if someone could help me with that? I think its the GPU Temp
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2008
  18. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I think I may still have my SN45G profile for SpeedFan - I'll have a bash at looking for it when I'm home.

    UPDATE: What motherboard are you using Craig? No wait, I've found your previous post. Unfortunately I can't find a profile for your board, only the nForce 3 version. Wonder if that would work... o_O
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2008
  19. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    Temps are fine running everest . 40 deg for cpu idle have not tested load temps yet. I am going to lap the heatsink on the weekend.
     
  20. Evo85

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    459 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    Just found this club and wanted to say hello. :)

    Devout Socket A fan here. So much so that I just cant bring myself to move to the dual/quad cores when my Athlon XP still does everything I need.

    So hello to all the Socket A fans out there. Good to know Im not the only one left. :toast:
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2008
  21. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    :rockout:

    Welcome buddy!

    Managed to OC your CPU at all?
     
  22. Evo85

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    459 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Indy, IN

    Actually, no. I have 3 Athlon XP cores. 1 XP2200 and 2 3200. I have been toying with the idea of OC'ing one of the 3200's though. Think I still have the guide stashed somewhere. The one thing holding me back atm is getting better case cooling and a better CPU cooler.
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,445 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    whats the clock rate the CPU is at, also a major suggestion, use a IR thermometer gun and shoot the CPU and NB.
     
  24. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Right, my 2GB DDR500 arrived today. So, if I get time this week I'll have a bash at OC'ing my old XP-M 2400+.... MUHAHAHAHAHA!
     
  25. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    I have a thermal sensor on the case (not sure how accurate it is) I placed that right into the heatsink of the northbridge and highest that reads is 40 deg. I will have to aquire one of those guns.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page