1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Socket A Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by 3991vhtes, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,062 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,651
    I think only the 3200+ was the 400 FSB model less 2800 and up came in besides the 333 FSB Models.

    btw how many of those CPUs are before week 39 of 2003 and you say they are all operational?

    http://fab51.com/cpu/barton/athlon-e24.html
     
  2. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,148 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,525
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Just pulled the plug, should get my 3200 Barton in early May, it's coming from China. I'll be back for more help before then and then, then!

    I'm crossing my fingers that I can get this thing working faster, can't be too hard, right?

    Anyways, Thanks for the advice and information!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,268 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Here is the 333FSB.. It wasn't the most popular one.. I remember a few friends getting the 333fsb and had to send it back to the egg for the 400fsb version. :toast: Oh and most of them work.. but a few didn't make the overclock..lol :roll: I'd have to check for the week.. and I don't have time.. Plus, I can't sell my museum... :p

    EDIT: Let me check in my building I have a few more chips out there.. I've got that 3000xp chip some where and if I find it I'll let you know if you are interested. :toast:
     
    Arjai says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,062 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,651
    Hopefully its a multiplier unlocked model. Btw you may wanna cool the boards NB SB and VRMS for both cpu n ram when overclocking. Most skt a boards needed better cooling for them


    ya if u read my sig rig it cant really do anymore than 3200+ / 2.2ghz without stability issue. So not sure if chip, cooling of chip or motherboard. Ram is rated for 250 Mhz
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2012
  5. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,268 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,748
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Oh I know it is.. I bought it when they first came out, and it always ran at 3200xp speeds. :toast: It'll go as high as you want it to.. If you can keep it cool. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,062 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,651
    Read my prev post. Part was meant for the guy buying the chip from china. Honestly i wouldnt pay more than 20 bux comin out of china
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt and Mindweaver say thanks.
  7. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,955 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,560
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I know the mobile chips clock like feins. I was running two of them until recently. I had both running @ 2.4 without touching the voltage on them. Never tried any higher, almost wished I did now. Oh well. I also still have my 3200+ chip along with about 15 asst. other chips and 8 or so boards. The 3200+ and my Asus a7n8x deluxe was running up til this past weekend. My soacket A server still goes and goes and goes. It's like the energizer bunny. It is built around a Abit KT7A-raid v1.3 running a xp 2400+ chip and 1.5 gb of pc133.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,062 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,651
    mine would only do 2.2GHz at most
     
  9. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,148 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,525
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I've got an unused system fan 3 pin on my Mobo and I'm gonna pick one up in the next week or so, from my local shop. Along with some thermal grease, for when the CPU arrives. I'll be sure to keep an eye on the temps, I'm pretty sure my heat sink and fan will handle it. Maybe, later, I'll pull the cover and take some pictures.

    Everybody likes pictures, no? :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,955 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,560
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    You mean like these

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,148 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,525
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,148 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,525
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    If, for some reason, I can't make that 3200 work, I will be interested! I figure I may have to play around with my Bios settings to get it going but, we'll see. Somebody mentioned that the cache size won't be recognized by my MoBo. Not sure why it wouldn't, but again, we'll see.

    I'm getting all excited about this whole CPU swap! I can hardly wait! :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,148 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,525
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    It was $23.70 with half year shipping! Or, so it seems. Dude had a 99% feedback score so, I'm pretty sure I'll get it in working fashion. Then it's just on me to get it to work on "This Old Comp," as I'm calling this project.;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,955 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,560
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    So you want agp graphics cards? heh


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,148 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,525
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I'm getting this...[​IMG]

    Although I don't know what color or design it'll have. I think it might be red in color, I'll have to wait and see.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2012
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,148 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,525
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Oops! Turns out I'm getting the 128Mb 6600gt, and it's blue with the word,"Verto" on the fan housing. At least that is the picture the guy I'm buying it from posted on e-bay.

    Anyways, mine has two DVI outs and a smaller heat sink, than the picture above.

    I can hardly wait for it to get here!!! :p

    EDIT: Right after I posted this I found a picture of it! Or at least a closer looking one, I think mine may have a different fan shroud.

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,955 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,560
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Is your agp or pci-e? Nice card for a agp system.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,148 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,525
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    AGP 4x currently. I'm hoping to find an 8x to swap out with at the shop, later this week. *Crosses Fingers* I'm wondering if any of the kids at the shop even know what an 8x AGP is!

    :cool:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,955 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,560
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Probably not.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,148 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,525
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Ok! 6600gt arrived today! I'm gonna wait until tomorrow to install it since I don't have a DVI cord, yet. I'm going to the shop tomorrow and I'm gonna beg them for a cord out of some parts bin! I'm also going to pick up a fan to through in on my unused "sys fan" outlet. I'm pretty confident that with that I'll be fine, heat-wise, with the new CPU and the new, to me, 6600gt. Oh, and I'm gonna pick up some thermal grease. Any suggestions on what I should avoid, grease-wise? I've heard that some grease actually increases temps! Don't want any of that noise!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,148 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,525
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    You're probably right. I'm bringing my box in so maybe, if they see what I mean...anyways, I'm gonna ask, at least!

    I can hope, right? :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,955 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,560
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Artic silver works great on those chips. Just be very careful on how much you use. A small dab will do. I use a credit card to spread it evenly in a very thin layer. Also if you haven't put a heat sink on a socket A chip before. Take you time and do it slowly so you don't crush the core as it is exposed. If you need a shim let me know. I will send you the one I have had that I got somewhere in one of my parts buys and never used.
     
    Arjai says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,148 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,525
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    The Duron and the Barton are similar, no? Anyways, I'll be super careful, thanks. If I need a shim I'll be sure to let you know. I might have one on there I can re-use.

    Thanks for the tip, Arctic Silver. I'll ask for it.

    So, so long as my buddy, with the car, doesn't flake out, I should have some pictures, pre and post graphics card and new fan. I have a Dart's league tonight so the pics will probably not happen today, posting anyways. I'll get 'em up as soon as I can Thursday.

    :rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,062 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,651
    Barton Core was- Athlon XP/XP-M,MP, Sempron

    Thorobred and Lower was Duron
     
  25. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,148 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,525
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I was thinking in terms of size and shape. No matter because I think I spied a shim under my heat sink, when I was under the hood yesterday. That was what we were discussing, earlier. Sorry for any confusion.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page