1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Socket Pin Burnout Returns to Haunt LGA1155?

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Last year, credible reports of a design defect with LGA1156 sockets made by a certain component manufacturer in particular, made headlines. Reviewers found that extreme overclocking using increase voltages, in test cases, caused certain pins of the socket to burn out, damaging both the board and processor. The defect was found to be caused by shorting between the pins and the socket causing tiny electrical arcs. Motherboard reviewer from TechReaction.net discovered that his Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4 and GA-P67A-UD7 samples showed signs of socket burn. The publication is yet to receive a reply from the board manufacturer.

    LGA1155 and LGA1156 are very similar in physical pin layout, chip package, and retention clips, although the pin-maps are significantly different. TechReaction comments that while only "extreme conditions" cause such pin burnouts, 24/7-stable overclocked settings could, over a period of time, create similar conditions. Only time, and extensive testing will reveal if burnouts are a cause for concern to enthusiasts.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: TechReaction
     
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Not many details. Only 2 individual boards so far? I wouldn't worry about this yet. Seems a bit soon to even make a blog post about.
     
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    no surprise here to much wattage to few pins
     
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Except that it wasn't number of pins that caused it the first time around, it was the manufacturer of the socket making it out of spec.

    And it's still only been shown on 2 individual boards this time around, not even 2 model lines, just 2 boards some guy had. We don't even know if it's legit burnout.
     
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Those were the same exact comments when the very first article about LGA1156 pin burnout surfaced.
     
    cdawall says thanks.
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Didn't those articles provide a bit more info in the process? And because it turned out to be a problem in 1156, that automatically means it is also a problem in 1155?

    If they were posted with the same amount of facts as this was, they deserved that initial skepticism.
     
  7. Link108

    Link108

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    That is just the risk you take for overclocking. I'm not suprised. That is why I have limits as to how high I oc my system because you have to decide is the risk worth the gain. Overclocking is nothing but a gamble. If you want to do some insane ocing use liquid nitro, or phase change. Also every piece of hardware is different in terms of ocing.
     
  8. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,555 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    A reasonable overclock taking consideration for the hardware is very far from a gamble, particularly if you're in any way competent at life. If this is anything at all, it's a defect that could have shown itself regardless of overclocking.
     
  9. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    948 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    Australia
    It would be nice if the guy said something about how much voltage he was using.
     
  10. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    I demand the socket for my 95W processor to provide over 9000W without breaking a sweat or I will sh-t bricks in your face, [motherboard maker]!


     
  11. Riou New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    The reviewer did not even put the CPU in the board yet. The socket already had burned pins.

    I repeat, the board came from Gigabyte with burnt pins.
     
  12. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    948 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh, well that sucks then. Bad quality control from Gigabyte.
     
  13. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,445 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Maybe because they -GB- are doing non stop overclocking contests? :p
     
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Here we go again. Just limited to GigaByte so far? Looks like I may hold off on being an early adopter this round.:shadedshu
     
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ouch. This might give me a reason to avoid GB... however, they don't specify the voltage they were using. I wouldn't be surprised if this happened while pushing ridiculous power like 1.7v.

    Take it from me, always look into your board's specs when you are going to overclock, and more importantly, push voltage. I had a Biostar board (same model I'm using now, it got RMA'd) blow up and kill my 9800GT I had at the time when I tried to overclock/overvolt a Phenom 9500. The P9500 is already at 95w stock, and my board is only rated to support up to 95w processors. That sucked, but it was my fault for not paying attention, but I'm much the wiser about such things now.

    It doesn't surprise me that these pins would burn out, especially when overclocked. Fitting 1155 pins into such a small space... those pins got to be awful thin.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Oh god, please no! :cry:

    To be honest I think that may just be the reviewer's fault or possibly just an unlucky board from GB. My UD4 didn't look like that, and so far so good. Feel like I'm a guinea pig now :ohwell:
     
  17. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    948 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    Australia
    We already established the reviewer didnt even use the board. Gigabyte sent it like that.

    Ya but because they were sample boards i'm guessing Gigabyte sent a couple of boards they were using and testing with and didnt realise the socket was burnt. I doubt a new board would have burnt sockets. Haha looks bad for Gigabyte though.
     
  18. Tartaros

    Tartaros

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    194 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    Sometimes this things happens and everyone can fail. Quality controls are not perfect, that doesn't mean gb is a bad brand.
     
    v12dock says thanks.
  19. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    i don't think so because LGA 1155 have significantly different pin arrangement,
     
  20. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,948 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    agree, personally i think that the socket is not made by gigabyte, then the fault not only from gigabyte itself, any other brand could have that
    when intel change the pin from the processor to the socket, any fault like that is possible, remember how many pins on the socket, any small thing err on manufacture or handling would give result like that
     
    v12dock says thanks.
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    I know, but I keep seeing mixed views about GB...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    If it was a review sample is it possible another reviewer had pushed it too far? But also was not the issues with the LGA1156 sockets due to low quality ones from foxconn? anyone know what brand gigabyte uses on these boards?

    Personally i dislike the pins being on the motherboard but that's mainly as my CPU's usually cost less than the board so that way around if a pin gets damaged it is the more costly replacement.
     
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  23. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,418 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    AZ
    that'd be my guess also.

    I'd haver a guess that the cpu overheated as well.

    though i really do preser the pins on the mobo rather than the cpu, so many bent pins on cpus over the years and nada since I went to intel's lga style. So while I had an all too easy time beding a cpu pin while trying to be careful I've never bent one on a mobo even while not being careful.

    And typically my mobo's are cheaper than my cpu. It's just more stuff to remove when a mobo burns out but that's no biggie.
     
  24. mechtech

    mechtech

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    251 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Doesn't FOXCONN make the cpu holder that goes on the motherboard??
     
  25. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I totally agree that pins on a CPU are easy to bend and when the CPU is more expensive (even more so if it's something like a 980x) it makes much more sense to have them on the board also every CPU i have had in the past 10 years has outlasted the motherboard, i think apart from crazy high voltage the only way to kill a CPU is damage the pins so i totally see why Intel and AMD (on some server CPU's) have done this.

    foxconn makes the full socket, i don't know if it's their socket on that board but they do make them for many board makers.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page