1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[SOLVED] New CPU Installed issue on Asus Motherboards - Part 2

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by noxcovenant, Jun 18, 2013.

  1. noxcovenant New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nickg solved the problem here:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2422458

    I didn't believe it at first, but I took an actual photo...

    [​IMG]

    Needless to say, I was shocked. I don't even know how to approach RMA'ing this, since they'll give me the same board presumably.

    Well, at least I know the problem now. Hopefully this verifies it for everyone too.
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2013
  2. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Yep, don't buy ASUS motherboards? :laugh: :ohwell:
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Not quite sure that's an issue with the board. Seems like excessive amount of pressure from the CPU cooler causing that.
  4. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Yup, before you put some flaming stuff about Asus, get the facts straight. Too much pressure warps any board. Time to close this thread IMO. Besides, I don't think the board manufacturers make the socket.
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    They don't. It is usually Foxconn or Lotus.
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    I can show you that issue with any manufactures board and any cpu including intel based ones. Follow the instructions included with your heatsink install and you will notice you overtorqued the fasteners on what appears to be a coolermaster HSF if I am not mistaken.
  7. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    928 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    I don't think it's excessive force ... everything in that photo is straight except the socket which is obviously bent :confused:

    [​IMG]
    jmcslob says thanks.
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    either way it's not Asus to blame. They do not manufacture the sockets themselves.
  9. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,236 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    That's not the customer's fault. ASUS should have checked before installing a defective part, no?

    RMA it to ASUS and let ASUS deal with it.
  10. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    If that bend was due to over tightening the HSF assembly it would be warped with the center of the socket being the lowest point and not the corners. yes that is an ASUS issue even though they do not make the socket they assemble the board and their quality control should ensure that their are no issues.
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,491 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,901
    Not necessarily true. The mounting seems to be bending the board downwards on each corner resulting in the socket lowering away from the CPU on each corner.
    jmcslob says thanks.
  12. mandis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Has Asus acknowledged this problem? Have they issued a recall?
  13. noxcovenant New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Here are some more photos guys.

    Some of you brought up some interesting points about my heatsink possibly being the culprit. So I removed it...

    [​IMG]

    ... does it change any of your perceptions? I don't mind if I'm wrong or right. Either way, the decision to raise the corners interests me (i.e. why ASUS chooses to do this and why Gigabyte doesn't).
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    Almost every board I have owned looks like that. You aren't showing anything more than improper original installation on your part.
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,491 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,901
    I have two that don't. One is an Asus, one a Gigabyte. Both have the same Lotes socket and are flat.

    It does look to me as if a cooler was over tightened at one point causing the warpage.
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    I'm talking from MSI socket A board through my current AM3+ Asus they all have some kind of slightly raised edges on the socket.
  17. noxcovenant New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, nickg reports that the problem decreases when he applies the heatsink in a looser manner but if he touches the heatsink, it reveals itself again (http://newcpuinstalledissue.daemoncms.com/) He seems to imply the raised edges are the culprit for the fragility.

    It is only when he replaced it with a gigabyte socket that the problem completely disappears (according to him of course).

    I'm going to verify this later this week of course.

    Also, thanks for the info on the sockets cdawall. I wasn't aware that companies outsource their sockets to other companies like Foxconn and Lotes. So this isn't a Asus-specific irregularity it seems.
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    What is crazier is different revisions of the same board can have different sockets. Look at all of the later AM3+ boards 8x0 series and you will find some oddities like the swap from tan to black.

    Now for the original issue it could be slightly warped after improper install, but I doubt a stock HSF could do that or would have the same issues. Which makes me lean on user error vs company error.
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,491 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,901
    It's one motherboard. I haven't seen a white AM3 socket that isn't a Lotes socket. From what I gather, he replaced his damaged socket (that he most likely messed up himself) with an identical socket off of a different board.

    Either way, I suppose it is a good guide for those who screw up their sockets. :)
  20. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I'll take your word for it...
    I've personally never had a board warp with a HSF but I have had a HSF rip out a cpu...
    I always make sure the HSF will mount even with the cpu when mounted though...
    It kind of makes me giggle a little to think that someone would tighten the mount to the point of stressing the board...

    I would still think if over tightened it would pull the center of the socket down instead of the sides unless you were pulling the sides of the hsf mount down more than 1/16"...and that really makes me giggle:laugh:
  21. Muhad

    Muhad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    That has to be due to improper installation of the cpu and/or cooler.

    I wouldn't blame the mobo unless that particular mobo was flawed or damaged by the manufacturer or owner.

    My Rampage II Extreme doesn't have that problem.
  22. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,570
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    So you buy another motherboard and use its socket brace on your ASUS motherboard, and call that a solution?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page