1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Solved]System Upgrade

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by DiogoCDS19, May 9, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi,
    Needing a system upgrade...
    I was thinking about upgrading my Q9450 to a Q9650 then overclock it to 4Ghz+ but the Q9650's aren't that cheap (even used).

    I would probably see some performance boost, although for the money I "waste" on an obsolete socket plus a bit more I would probably be able to get a future proof system that I could upgrade without changing the Motherboard + CPU + RAM (again)

    To be honest I have no idea what to look for...
    I know a lot about the C2D and C2Q, but about the "new" i3, i5 and i7 I don't know much. Didn't really care since I didn't have one.
    That's why I need some advice, been checking and there is more than 1 generation of i7's so I was like: o_O??

    Have about £350 to spend. what could I get with that ?
    (Would need MB+CPU+RAM)

    Thanks in advance.

    Edit: Don't mind used hardware
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2014
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,985 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,016
    Location:
    Oregon
    Newest socket is 1150. Intel i3 i5, i7. Haswell. 4th gen. Don't even bother with upgrade on a 775.

    Let me think about that. What are you doing with it.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2014
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  3. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    Thought so too..

    Mostly gaming. At the moment the biggest performance hit I see is in online games. Crowded areas are laggy.
    And some other games gotta lower CPU based settings.
    With the graphic card I got there's clearly a bottleneck.
     
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,985 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,016
    Location:
    Oregon
    New Z87 board, 1600 DDR3 and i5 you should be golden at 1440 X 900 with that 270

    The Q9450 with DDR2 will hold back that GPU. My guess is at least 15%
     
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  5. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    480 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    UK
    Your graphics card isn't much of a bottleneck to be honest. My advice would be getting an unlocked i5 Haswell CPU, a good Z87 motherboard (or maybe even wait for the introduction of Z97 motherboards) with features that make your PC upgradeable and allow overclocking, then finally 8GB of DDR3 RAM. Any left over money could be spent on a CPU cooler, or you could buy it later to upgrade.

    I'll have a look when I'm free for some good parts.

    Layton
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2014
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  6. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    I'll be looking into that.
    As for the CPU, that's what I don't understand... Why not an i7? (price problem?)

    Thank you both for the advice.
    I'll be checking a good combo (performance/price) and reply back with possible ideas.
     
  7. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,170 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,045
    thebluebumblebee and DiogoCDS19 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    That was actually funny. I just found the exact same combo while looking in a store here.
    (Btw, I'm from Portugal but said the budget in £ so it would be easier for people here)
    I actually forgot that my cooler wont fit on the i5 (sad story :( )

    Thank you very much!
     
  9. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,170 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,045
    those e-tailers won't ship to Portugal? You are on the same continent.
     
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    Doubt it, and even if they do will be crazy prices.
    But as I said I found a store here selling the same combo without the cooler, its about £305.
    I'll probably get it in the next days.

    Once again thank you!
     
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
  11. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    480 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    UK
    +1 to @BarbaricSoul 's build. Looks very solid.

    Don't worry about the cooler right now - you can always buy that later when/if you decide to overclock. Its a good upgrade for the future. If you want to overclock immediately, we can suggest other options if you like.

    Layton
     
    BarbaricSoul and DiogoCDS19 say thanks.
  12. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    I'll probably overclock it later, but for now not really thinking about.
    I'm really excited about the build :D
    Thanks!
     
  13. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    480 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    UK
    Need any more help, TPU is only a few clicks away :)

    Layton
     
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  14. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,000 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    Should a person wait for Z97 at this time? Don't get me wrong, I like barb's suggestion a lot. But aren't Z97's just days away? And yes, I realize that now may be the best time to get deals on Z87 motherboards. And, is it better to get a "mature" Z87 verses a new platform? Z97, like the MSI Z97 Gaming 5 that cadaveca just reviewed also come with M.2 for the fastest storage connection.
    I tend to lean towards getting the newest tech that is available, even if that means waiting for a little bit.
    Edit: But if it's available, why do I have to wait? :laugh:
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2014
    DiogoCDS19, LaytonJnr and BarbaricSoul say thanks.
  15. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    480 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    UK
    I did mention that in a previous post. But does the average person really need, or is likely to afford M.2 storage? Sometimes the new stuff is just adding new features that the general consumer needs. But I do think that the development of stuff like M.2 storage is important, and if they're the same prices, why the heck not go with Z97.

    Layton
     
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  16. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,000 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    M.2 may not be that big of a deal now, but I think a year from now we'll be talking about how slow SATA SSD's are in comparison to M.2 SSD's. A potential 40% speed increase is nothing to sneeze at.
     
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  17. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,642 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,489
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Personally I would save yourself a few quid, if you shop around you can get a well priced new I5 3570K Ivybridge CPU, couple that with a decent and cheap Open Box Motherboard from Aria for example and you can get a really decent system that will overclock well and is well below budget, just as an example take a look here..........

    You have the quick codes there to search and look at them in more detail, my next door neighbour just last week bought pretty much the same!

    Edit: Damn just noticed your from Portugal, don't know if Aria ship there. If not overclockers may be your only bet.
     

    Attached Files:

    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  18. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
  19. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,170 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,045
    As long as the RAM is rated to run 1.5 volts, you should not have any issues with it. Your system might downclock it to DDR3 1600 speeds though.
     
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    480 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    UK
    The CPU has only native support for some memory speeds, however your motherboard has a chip that allows more RAM support including DDR3-1866. So you're completely fine. And the RAM is a good choice too.

    Layton
     
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  21. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    The same Kingston RAM but DDR3-1600 is 10€ less that's why was asking if its worth or not.
    Don't want to buy something that can't use.

    Also, they both are rated at 1.65v...
     
  22. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,170 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,045
    1.65 volt RAM may work, it may not work. Depends a lot on your motherboard. If you can find someone that has that board and is running 1.65 volt RAM in it, it might be worth trying. Personally, I'd just get some 1.5 volt rated RAM. I prefer Corsair Vengeance RAM myself, but G Skill, Crucial, and GeIL all make good RAM kits.

    My suggestion- http://www.pixmania.co.uk/pc-memory...cl9-pc-memory-f3-1600c9d-8gab/17967658-a.html
     
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    So the big problem here is the motherboard not handling it right?
    Not the CPU.

    In the board page under memory support, they aren't listed and all the RAMs listed there run at 1.5v, but in the OC memory support page all the RAMs are running at 1.65 although this RAM model is not listed either.
     
  24. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,170 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,045
    Honestly, I'd prefer someone with experience with Haswell/Z87 systems to answer that. Personally, I've never had to opportunity to play with one.
     
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    Been checking some builds and people use 1.65v rated RAM but still not sure.
    Anyway, I'll start a new thread about it since this thread is pretty much solved.

    Thank you all
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page