1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Some heads up..

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by xnox202, Aug 23, 2007.

  1. xnox202

    xnox202 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    276 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brunei Darussalam
    Guys, I'm just wondering.. What's a bus width again? I'm not sure. Lets say, I have a Athlon 64, so to say its a 64bit bus width cpu?

    Pretty weird actually but, i'm having this weird hardware lesson at the moment, and it says in the notes i'm reading at the moment, pentium 4 with 256 bus width, wtf? :ohwell:

    P/S: I'm at my school now. lol, I'm thinking there's alot of wrong points written in this hardware notes. and the teacher does well explaining it. :lol:. I may have to attach the notes probarbly up here to let some of you guys read.
     
  2. xnox202

    xnox202 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    276 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brunei Darussalam
    Instructor continues saying Pentium 4 has faster cpu bandwidth than Athlon 64. Hmm, I need some a little bit of understanding here about different cpus and how to calculate bandwidths and stuff. Isn't pentium 4 supposed to compete with Athlon XP, thus Athlon 64 should be better than pentium 4? or something? :slap:
     
  3. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Ok, what the 64 in A 64 refers to is the capability of the CPU to process 64 bit. Oh and btw, the bus on core 2's, A 64, P4, is 64 bits. Which is why current architecture is called X86-64, not X86-128.
     
  4. xnox202

    xnox202 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    276 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brunei Darussalam
    so if the cpu is capable to process 64bit, does it relates to the bus width?
     
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Except for the fact that a 64bit CPU has nothing to do with any bus, it's internal. The width of a bus basically is the amount bits that are sent every clock. This applies to any bus, agp, pci (x/e) FSB etc.
     
  6. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Not at all.
     
  7. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Yeah, I was just saying that A 64 had the 64 in it because it signified it could process 64 bits.

    @xnox: the original p4 design couldn't process 64 bits but had a 64 bit bus. Same with p3.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page