1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Some programs crash right after startup. started occuring after a system restore

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Hybrid_theory, Nov 21, 2012.

  1. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Earlier this week I did a shutdown for some windows updates to install. After it rebooted it seemed to take forever saying windows update preparing to install. Some googling suggested to reboot and it will finish the installation, or you can sign in and re-perform the update. This didnt happen. I had to do a system restore to a direct X install from a couple days back. Windows then booted properly, but there was some problems. It complained about unable to load assembly sortkey.nlp. Turned out it was ATI catalyst software causing the problem. So I reinstalled that to 12.10. Now when I try and run some programs such as CdBurner XP Pro or Free Youtube to Mp3 converter, they crash instantly with the error: <program> has stopped working.

    I tried removing .net and installing .net 4.5. But still no luck.

    Id like to avoid reinstalling windows, any suggestions?
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Look in your event log for an APPCRASH on the applications in question.
    There will be an error code that will help determine the problem(s).
    Hybrid_theory says thanks.
  3. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,080 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Believe me or not, halfway tru the original post I thought: " Mmm, hardware for sure, ATI probably.." haha

    Seriously. Hot reseting the PC for security updates might not damage a lot, but during driver updating, oh mamma.... possible codex involved.

    I see a OS full reinstall.
  4. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    I dont let windows handle my drivers, its made poor choices that way before. Im pretty sure its something to do with .Net. Ive been trying removing different versions and such. my one last try with it here.

    As per kreij's recommendation, I checked event viewer, but mmc returned an error when loading it, pointing to .net

    Ok so nope didnt work.

    I found if I removed .net 4. and renamed the Microsoft.Net folder in C:\Windows, rebooted, then reinstalled that, Cd Burner XP pro worked. But the Youtube to Mp3 program did not. So I tried the same thing with reinstalling .Net 3.5 from the windows features bit. couldn't do it.

    Im gonna see if I have an older restore point that might do it.
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 22, 2012
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Have you tried this?
    Hybrid_theory says thanks.
  6. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Was about to, but as I ran through it, found that even with just .net 4 installed and not 3.5 i still cant run CDBurner XP Pro. its something left on the system that's causing the problem, not the installation.

    Unfortunately I didnt have any restore points going back further than sunday. So Im trying to do an OS repair install. But now the windows disc decides it doesnt want to load my kb/mouse properly. i have no control on the windows 7 disc. Dont think i had this issue before, though I installed off a USB stick
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,302 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,831
    If we are speaking of the rig in your specs, have you tried removing the OC to be certain something like the memory isn't causing the issues? Losing simple things in an OS install makes me thing its hardware related and maybe the OC is causing a slight enough instability to do so.
    Hybrid_theory says thanks.
  8. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    interesting idea. took it off in the bios. but yeah still no mouse/kb. Its weird cause as the pc boots, kb and mouse have their lights on. But once the CD loads up, they just shut off.
  9. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I had a similar problem. I think enabling legacy USB in the BIOS fixed it, but it was a long time ago so I'm not sure. It always worked fine with PS/2 devices.
  10. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Yeah that was set to enabled. tried switching to auto no go.

    Oh FML. I had to pick one of the middle USB ports on the front of my case
  11. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Lol ... It's usually the front/top ones that give me problems and not the ones directly on the mobo.

    Kinda funny that we get so wrapped up in the finer details that we forget something like "try another USB port". :laugh:
  12. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Well I have my mouse goto the back along with the kb. I did try both of the USB3s on the front, but not the USB2s. Anyway there wasnt much for repairing .net from the disk. I think what I read about repair install meant doing an upgrade install. Which ive never been terribly trusting of.

    Figure ill have to do a reinstall as originally suggested :(. But that will wait till the weekend.
  13. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Well, you might as well try the upgrade install to see if it works.
    Worse case you will have to nuke the system and do a full re-install.
  14. Evan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    USA
    1.Scan your computer with Antivirus software.
    2.Run chkdsk utility on your Laptop and fix file system errors.
    3.Check for RAM is it working well or it is not working fine.
    4.Use a Registry cleaner.
    5.Do Disk Defragmentation
  15. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Meant to update this on Friday but couldn't login. Anyway, I perfomed a Windows update before trying the upgrade, and that fixed the problem :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page