1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Some tips for Crossfire user.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by FelipeV, Jul 2, 2008.

  1. FelipeV

    FelipeV New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil
    Ok, A few weeks ago a friend was upset about Grid not working well with his X2, so I started trying renaming games executable to one from games that work with Crossfire setups.

    So in Grid, renaming to Oblivion.exe make CF works in this game, this was before 8.6.

    I did try other games.

    Nvidia Medusa Demo - Rename Medusa.exe to Crysis.exe enable CF. http://www.tommti-systems.de/start.html
    COD 4 if you rename to Crysis.exe you will get about 10fps more.
    TDU if use Oblivion will enable CF, almost double the performance.
    Lost Planet if you use COJ_DX10.exe will double the performance in some points.
    Devil May Cry - Rename to FEAR if you run under DX9.
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=3081632&postcount=16

    So if some of you want to try this, because, basically I´m doing this for every game that doesn´t work nice with CF and TWINMTB games.


    LP example.
    Settings
    [​IMG]

    COJ_DX10.exe
    [​IMG]

    Default exe.
    [​IMG]

    DMC4 1680x1050 all settings maxed with 8xAA. C2D@3,5GHz. L7R fron XS.
    DX9 - Default EXE.
    [​IMG]

    DX9 - Fear.exe.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2008
    kingkongtol and DaMulta say thanks.
  2. dng29 New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    118 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    great tips. i'm getting terrible results in grid on my 3870x2. i'm seeing 40fps on average. i will definitely try the oblivion trick. keep up the good work.
     
  3. FelipeV

    FelipeV New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil
    Updated with DMC4
     
  4. dragonavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Great tip :nutkick:

    Thanks my friend!!!

    :toast:
     
  5. Nyte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    185 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Toronto ON
    This is excellent tip!
     
  6. FelipeV

    FelipeV New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil
    Updated

    Nvidia Medusa Demo.
    Use Crysis.exe
     
  7. Slither

    Slither New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Anyone got something like this working with World of Warcraft?

    Tried now with Oblivion.exe, but it still uses only one core on my 3870x2
    I have catalyst 8.11 drivers.

    Any tips/help would be greatly appreciated
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page