1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Someone beat this if you can

Discussion in 'Storage' started by rickss69, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    i beat it a while back 18 sec (iirc) using a pair of Supertalent 32GB SSD's in raid 0 and a phenom II X4@4ghz will look for the SS its on these forums somewere
     
    rickss69 says thanks.
  3. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,071 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    im not sure what we are suppose to be beating...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    That would be wicked! :toast:
     
  5. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    How much difference would a UEFI BIOS make? That's the question I want answered.

    EDIT: freaksavior: Restart time.
     
    freaksavior says thanks.
  6. BinaryMage

    BinaryMage New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    609 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    I think it would speed it up - see this article. I don't know how much, though. My BIOS only takes about 5 seconds or so.
     
  7. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    My C4F takes aaaages to post... Anyone who owns one of these boards knows what I mean. Would be nice to see a UEFI BIOS for my board, but I doubt that would happen :laugh:
     
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    your BIOS is set up wrong i have one of those boards it does not take forever
     
  9. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    You don't have a CD drive in your C4F, your board has one less thing to post - I've got a CD drive in the Marvell/J-Micron (can't remember) port, so that's another whole controller. I've also got 5 HDD's so it's all gotta add up.

    EDIT: It's not that mine's set up wrong, it's that yours is set up better :p
     
  10. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Hold on - I almost have a Raid 0 up and running. :)
     
  11. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011
  12. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    ^ Wrong program...:p

    My Raid is one second slower...:wtf:
     
  13. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Will play your sick games sometime this week, got ssd coming.

    Should be fun :D
     
  14. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    I see, anyway I got 52 seconds with your app.

    What do you get with BootRacer?
     
    rickss69 says thanks.
  15. BinaryMage

    BinaryMage New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    609 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    Check your BIOS settings and make sure "Additional HDD Detect Delay" or whatever is set to 0. That can cause delays. Also just poke around in the BIOS. Even if you have some drives, it shouldn't take too long.
     
  16. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    For Arctucas...
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    ^^^Nice.^^^

    I got this after disabling AV, soundcard drivers and such.

    If eVGA ever gets around to updating the RAID ROM in this BIOS, I might do a little better.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    RAID = Suckage

    Workin on it...;)
     

    Attached Files:

  19. adrianx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    324 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bucharest ROMANIA
    rickss69.... look like VM :D
     
  20. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    lets beat rickssssss69
     
  21. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,071 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    i'm likely getting two 128gb c300's so i'm sure I could.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    When I tried RAID 0 it slowed for me. :confused::confused:
     
  23. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Will that make a great difference?
     
  24. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    depends on mobo etc. It is slower because it takes time to recognize your SSDs on boot in BIOS and also the RAID controller has to load
     
  25. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I approximate 800+ read speeds
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page