1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

someone double check my assumption . . .

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by imperialreign, Dec 3, 2007.

  1. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    Just got home from work, had a splitin headache all day, and I just don't feel like thinking . . .



    System BIOS is reset to defaults everytime the rig has been shut down for 30+ min, mobo double beeps with a message at POST stating "System BIOS incorrect or has been reset / Press F1 to enter Setup / Press F2 to continue"

    I'm immediately guseeing the CMOS batt is/has gone bad?
     
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    sounds like you need to replace the bios battery to me
     
    imperialreign says thanks.
  3. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    kinda what I was figuring - I guess I gotta pick up a new one tonight
     
  4. allen337

    allen337

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    955 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Danville IL
    You overclocking or manually setting memory timings? If so try loosining memory timings and running stock on cpu. Turn it off again and wait and see if it does it again. Just had a friend buy some ddr2 800 with timings of 4-4-4 2.2v and had similiar issues, figured out the memory needed to be set to 4-4-5 and it was ok, wassnt advertised timings but not worth a RMA either. ALLEN
     
  5. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    naw, this was an issue where fully shutting the computer off and leaving it off for more than 30+ resulted in a reset BIOS.

    I replaced the CMOS batt, and then had to deal with a whole other issue - it seems that this mobo I recieved back from ASUS through RMA, some dummy installed the wrong size battery; it was one size too small. On top of that, whoever did install the batt knew it wasn't right, because the socekt terminals had been bent to make contact with the batt. When I went to install the correct size batt, it didn't want to push in past the retainer clip, and the retainer clip was loose from where it makes contact with the mobo. It took quite a long while to actually figure out what was wrong, because even after getting the new batt installed - the machine wouldn't POST at all, and it's not like the first thing you're going to investigate is the batt terminal mobo connections.

    Everything is back to gold now . . . and I sent ASUS a rather "colorful," non-explative letter in regards to their RMA service.
     
  6. allen337

    allen337

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    955 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Danville IL
    that sux, ive never had a battery problem. Wouldnt think to check it. ALLEN
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page