1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sony PlayStation 4 "Orbis" Kits Shipping to Developers, Powered by AMD A10 APU

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 2, 2012.

  1. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    506 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Huh? Have you read anything I've been posting? Doesn't sound like it...

    I simply posted a link showing that having PhysX disabled for Batman:AC doesn't suddenly give AMD cards a 60fps min. framerate in that game.
     
  2. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    I know that. But he's talking as if didn't and the impact was irrelevant.
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,729 (9.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,198
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ahhh I see. Yea it does impact ATI like with BL2 especially.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    508 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    it's obviously you still think that a next gen console machines will performs (or render) better if their detail hardware specification is close enough with currently a high end pc machine. :)
     
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    I got 60+ FPS with a 570 with no PhysX and a 7950 is a lot faster. Your link is irrelevant.
     
  6. sergionography

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    266 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    not to mention the dev kit is for game companies to start developing compatible games for the upcomming hardwar, so the final spec might be different but we now know the recipe
    so even if sony use steamroller instead with much bigger integrated gpus the compatibility in terms of coding will be pretty much the same just wont take full advantage of the hardware for the next gen of games.
     
  7. JNUKZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    185 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portugal
    PS4 it´s supposed to run games at 4k resolution. But to be honest I think is almost impossible.
     
  8. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    506 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Nope. That's the 3rd or 4th time you've completely missed my point even when I've explained it.

    Mailman claimed that my contention about a 7950 not doing 60fps minimum framerates in Batman AC was irrelevant because it has PhysX.

    I then argued, and posted a link supporting, that PhysX doesn't matter on that count - you're not going to get 60fps min. framerate with or without PhysX.

    The fact stands - if you want 60fps minimum framerates on every game with max settings, you need at least two GPUs.

    Now, you might say "that's an irrelevant point nobody cares about minimum framerate and who cares if you have to disable some AA in one or two games". OK fine I'm not going to argue that. Some people will care and some won't. But ticking the boxes next to each of the 3 criteria: 60fps minimum fps, maxed settings, all games - that requires more power than any single GPU has to offer.

    Heck, it *technically* requires more power than any TWO GPUs have to offer if you're going to count something like The Witcher 2's ubersampling mode. And some poorly optimized games like Batman AC I'm not even sure if it's possible to get 60fps minimum fps there with max settings either.
     
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    A 7950 will get better then a MINIMUM of 60FPS without PhysX. My 570 does.
     
  10. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,553 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    PS3 has Steam right?

    Think I might leave the PC gaming pretty soon. Well perhaps in a few years.
     
  11. JNUKZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    185 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portugal
    No it doesn´t, I own a ps3 and only have psn
     
  12. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,499 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,328
    none of you have a point. sony will just screw you over with ps4 like they did on ps3. stop arguing about something you wont buy and shouldn't buy!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    Sony didn't screw me over.
     
    Lionheart says thanks.
  14. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    506 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Yeah that makes total sense since HardOCP gets a minimum fps in the 20s for the 7970 GHz edition maxed without PhysX. Very plausible. Definitely sounds legit. 12.11 drivers probably give a 100%+ boost compared to 12.9.

    :rolleyes:
     
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,350 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Location:
    Florida
    they didnt screw me over and you had a thread when you got yours. your just mad. Didnt you just get on the mac bandwagon? anything that doesnt have an apple logo on it in th comming months isnt going to be worth it to buy to you.
     
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    HardOCP is not TPU. We know how to review and test hardware properly. Look at OUR benches.

    No hes mad they got rid of Linux support. One thing I have learned about Easy Rhino is he will install Linux on a toaster oven if he can......and if he can't that toaster oven is garbage!
     
    xBruce88x says thanks.
  17. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    506 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    TPU benches have no AA and don't measure minimum framerate for Batman AC and so aren't relevant to what I'm claiming one way or another.

    If you don't like HardOCP, go take a look at the Batman AC chart for overclock3d as another example. See any cards with 60fps minimum framerate? Nope. (I don't know exactly what settings they're using)

    I've not seen ANY benchmarks of maxed Batman AC, with or without showing PhysX, that show minimum fps above 60.
     
  18. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,495 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,199
    1080p still? Didn't Sony say they were working on a 2k+ capable system less than a year ago?
     
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    Well believe what you like. You have several users here that can do it. If you don't think a PS4 can't do it with DEDICATED hardware that's double the specs of the current system on a game designed for the LAST SYSTEM, who am I to argue with such intellect.
     
    xBruce88x says thanks.
  20. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    506 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Several users here who can do what, exactly? Use magic to achieve something benchmarks show not to be possible?

    Also, just to be picky... 1080p 60fps is more than 4x as demanding than what current consoles do, which is ~720p ~30fps.
     
  21. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Because the benchmarks you are using HAVE to be the supreme authority on what is possible because they support your viewpoint am I right? :laugh:
     
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    Of course because logic would dictate you would need 4x more powerful hardware to reach those kind of results. Never mind hardware and software optimization that's happen over the past 6 almost 7 years. Your logic is infallible. Perfect even. Like a liquid sphere in space.
     
  23. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,499 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,328
    dude, i loved my ps3 when it had all the features that i paid for. i am not on a mac bandwagon, i happen to really like macbooks.

    yes, when you buy a product for its advertised capability and they remove that capability then i will get mad.

    anybody who purchases the PS4 deserves to get screwed. :nutkick:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    506 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    My question: If my "viewpoint" is wrong, why are there no benchmarks that show that?

    Also... my logic on the "4x more powerful" note is infallible...
    1080p = 2.2x as many pixels as 720p
    60fps = 2x as many frames as 30fps

    So, to render something at 60fps in 1080p as opposed to 720p in 30fps, you need to crunch numbers more than 4x as fast i.e. your hardware needs to be 4x as powerful.
     
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,175 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,706
    If I were you I would be mad also about the Linux thing. :toast: However with that being said you are not the average user. Most people are very happy with the PS3.

    No. It would need to work 4x more efficient. Something that's been done over the past 7 YEARS.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page