1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Soon to have crossfire HD 7970s

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Live OR Die, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    I picked up 2 Sapphire HD 7970s for $620 each with free postage now i brought the 2nd to test out crossfire im not sure if i should keep it or not, If you were in my shoes what would you do sell it off or keep it :)
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Looking at your rig, I'd keep it!
  3. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,423 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Get a 2560x1600 monitor to push those cards:)
    You will want to keep them...
    Live OR Die says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Bah, I only assumed he had a 30" IPS with that rig. Quick slackin' son! Even I have one!
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  5. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    A new monitor is on my list, so i should keep them :)
  6. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,211 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,436
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Yeah man, I'm looking at moving to a 27" with 2560x1440 and i know on BF3 that will start to choke on my GTX580 (1.5Gb). I'm just stalling before buying monitor, card and waterblock.
  7. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Ill see how crossfire runs i hear its not as smooth as SLI in drivers any one what to input ?
  8. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,100 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Until AMD releases an actual release driver for the 7970, 7970 crossfire is probably going to be a little rough.
    AlienIsGOD and Live OR Die say thanks.
  9. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Well as long as they release one before nvidias next card i should still have both cards lol.
  10. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    Eyefinity 7680x1600 :)
  11. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    So i got my 2nd card today in the post and have linked them up in crossfire so far there running great cranking 120 FPS Max in BF3, I'm still thinking of selling the 2nd card off because i want to grab a new nvidia card when there release maybe 2 for SLI :) .
  12. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    742 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lucky bastard!!
    I'm poor and stuck with shitty gtx275-_-'
  13. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,862 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Sell it in the forum if you cant return it and reimburse it
  14. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    or you could post one across the dessert to me.. :)

    +1 on the 2560 monitor, that would be sweet as shit!!
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I'll be the first to say that you're wasting cash on 2560x1600? Been running it since 2007, still not happy with 3D performance! 5670x1080 tri-monitor seems more prudent these days. You can get 3x 24-inch and get more overall desktop/3D space with three really nice monitors, for the same cost as a 2560x1600 monitor.

    And yes, I have both tri-mon and 2560x1600.
  16. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    Why is it Dave? I love playing on my 30"
    I think that's more a matter of personal preference, I can't enjoy playing with 3 monitors because of the bezels, they detract too much from the immersion and even though if you spend some time playing like that you don't notice them anymore I have this tendency to stare at them :(
  17. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    The only reason i don't play games on tri-screen is because i hate the gaps between screens why not make a tri-port single monitor with no gaps :p
  18. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    The Samsung MD230x3 has very thin bezels, you should take a look at it if you really want to venture 3 monitor

    Link

    Or there always is the homemade way, remove bezels and do a custom mount.
    cadaveca says thanks.
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Well, i got the monitor in 2007. Here we are in 2012, 5 years later, and finally there is a decent solution for 2560x1600, but it ain't no single card that is capable! I've literally been running multiple VGAs for years, spending $1000++ on VGAs every year, if not twice a year, since I got this stupid monitor.


    :banghead:


    :roll:

    The past 5 years of poor performance has soured me towards high-res, and for some reason, 5670x1080 seems to work better? I know that doesn't make sense, but it is what it is.

    I agree the bezel problem is stil lthere, but with a budget of $450 per monitor, i'm sure you can find a model with nearly invisible bezels.

    The whole thing is that most 2560x1600 monitors also have a built-in scaler, so when running lower res, I can literally FEEL the input lag. So if a vga or something dies, the gaming expereince loses at tonne as well. I spent an entire year swapping 5870's with XFX, and that was a whole year of wasted gaming for 6 weeks, every 6 weeks. WIth a tri-monitor setup, swapping down to a single monitor for gaming is easy-peasy.

    It was very frustrating dealing with the 2560x1600 monitor for so long, so if i can help someon avoid the frustration, or at least be made awre of what may happen, I'm gonna speak up.
    radrok says thanks.
  20. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    I see, you have been very unlucky :(

    I have to agree that when there is no profile for CFX or SLI the thing is going to get screwed because you ain't getting playable framerates.
    I can't say I've had the same problems as you but I have had some (especially for being an earlier CFX/SLI adopter) and still I guess I've come out with a positive balance about it, especially because when everything works it outweighs the cons.

    Still, It takes a lot more money and effort to get good framerates at 2560x1600 than 1080p, I agree with you and I damn feel your pain :(
  21. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    That's why I bought the HP ZR30w. No built-in scalar, so very little input lag for a 2560x1600 IPS panel :) I'm an avid gamer, and I haven't noticed a difference between this and your average Samsung TN panel (haven't tried a "gaming" monitor with deflated GtG response timings).

    My GTX 570 doesn't let me max everything out, but I have a feeling a 7950 or 7970 would.
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Of course the issues that persist are app-depedant. Some work fantastic, others...well, you get the point.

    My 3008WFP that replaced the 3007WFP that I originally bought has amazing color, but I also ahve IPS monitors for eyefinity, so that's not that big of a deal.

    To me, it makes more sense to get a 32-inch 1080p TV than a 30-inch monitor, as even costs are much lower. That way you get the same overall view-space as a 30-inch, even a bit more, but none of the problems that come with running 2560x1600.

    I can't knock 2560x1600 for desktop work, as two full browser pages will fit on the screen ,and it doesn't work as well @ 1080p. BUt running dual 1080p or triple 1080p is jsut as useful, to me. When working on a review, I can have TPU open on one, Word on the other, and Photoshop on the third, which has greatly reduced the time I put into doing reviews, simply becuase I'm spending little-to-no time switching between windows.

    2560x1600 is really nice, when running well, I cannot deny that. As long as you are prepared to deal with stuff, it's a minor issue, but I always feel it's best to be prepared for hte worst, but hope for the best, just in life in general.
  23. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Well shes gone i didn't see any need to keep the 2nd card it was Overkill for what i use my pc for, Also the 1 card can run BF3 smooth on max settings on my res so im happy enough with that. :)
  24. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    Good choice man, one is more than enough if you don't go stereoscopic or 1600p.
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  25. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Any other models or companies like this in US?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page