1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SPARKLE Launches 1GB 8500GT and 8600GT

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Jan 9, 2008.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    SPARKLE today announced SPARKLE GeForce 8500GT 1GB and GeForce 8600GT 1GB Graphics Cards for mainstream gamers. An incredible 1GB onboard video memory makes consumers' HD gaming experiences smoother than ever.

    [​IMG]

    Based on NVIDIA’s award winning GeForce 8500 GT and GeForce 8600 GT rendering architecture, SPARKLE GeForce 8500 GT 1GB and GeForce 8600 GT 1GB Graphics Cards adopt innovative unified architecture, dynamically allocates processing power to geometry, vertex, physics, or pixel shading operations, delivering up to 2x the gaming performance of prior generation GPUs. Built upon technologies such as NVIDIA Lumenex Engine, providing support for DirectX 10 Shader Model 4.0, NVIDIA Quantum Effects technology for physics computation and GigaThread Technology for extreme processing efficiency in advanced, next generation shader programs.

    SPARKLE GeForce 8500 GT 1GB and GeForce 8600 GT 1GB Graphics Cards use most advanced DirectX 10 3D and shader Model 4.0 technology, cooperating with powerful new, extremely efficient, unified architecture in delivering unbelievable 3D power to drive latest DirectX 10 games, such as Crysis, to deliver ultra realistic gaming experience for mainstream gamers. Now amazing 1024MB onboard 1GB DDR2 video memory makes SPARKLE GeForce 8500 GT 1GB and GeForce 8600 GT 1GB Graphics Cards even more fast in rendering flowery DirectX 10 gaming scenes, efficiently satisfy the greedy appetite of DirectX 10 games on video memory.

    Besides incomparable 1GB video memory onboard, SPARKLE GeForce 8500 GT 1GB and GeForce 8600 GT 1GB Graphics Cards use Revolutionary NVIDIA PureVideo HD VP2 video processing engine and video processing unit onboard for ultimate quality playback of HD DVD, Blu-ray and HD movie downloads, SPARKLE GeForce 8500 GT 1GB and GeForce 8600 GT 1GB Graphics Cards take card of 100% H.264 HD video decoding tasks, freeing the CPU for other tasks and significantly reducing power consumption, heat and noise.

    "With DX10 games rapidly ramping up, ordinary GeForce 8500 GT and GeForce 8600 GT graphics cards with 256MB video memory can suffer from bottlenecks due to slow speed and insufficient capacity, so memory size is very important." said Kevin Wang, sales director of SPARKLE Computer Co., Ltd. "Now with SPARKLE GeForce 8500 GT 1GB and GeForce 8600 GT 1GB Graphics Cards, mainstream gamers can get great gaming benefit from high speed and high capacity 1GB video memory, SPARKLE GeForce 8500 GT 1GB and GeForce 8600 GT 1GB Graphics Cards will reach the ultimate performance in latest DirectX 10 games, and users can enjoy no lag and no stuttering gaming experience even at very high resolutions and maximum quality settings."

    [​IMG]

    Source: SPARKLE
     
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,967 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    1GB on these cards is a waste.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,424 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    lol 1GB for what? a 8500GT can barely run games at LOW settings lmao i guess 1GB is going to make these cards super powerful,

    I feel sorry for those morons who buy a card based on how much memory is on it...
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    What and how are those gonna use 1gb.
     
  5. Basard

    Basard

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    586 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Oshkosh
    Most people in this world buy cards based on the memory on them. Every time I ask somebody what graphics they have, they say something like "I have 128Mb graphics." Lol... and it's probably onboard.

    MAYBE, putting a gig on an 8600GTS, but not a crappy GT, would make more sense...
     
  6. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,424 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    they make a 512mb version of the 8600GTS and that is OVERKILL!
     
  7. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    YAY! Now I can play games that use ultra high texture resolutions, while keeping all other settins at low-medium so that I can actually play the game at more than 25fps! YAY!
     
  8. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,424 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    well i guess they found a buyer for a 1GB 8500GT roflamo
     
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Crysis usies more than 512....
     
  10. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    ????? :confused:

    trog
     
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,674 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,506
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yup, but who wants to play Crysis at 640 x 480 with detail settings at subterranean?
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,280 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,563
    i have a 512MB GT. it is a waste. the GT/S should have been capped at 256MB.
     
  13. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I play at 1280:toast:

    I tried the 640 and it didn't speed it up:shadedshu
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,280 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,563
    i tried crysis on my 8600GT for my housemate. thats when i moved that to the storage PC and bought a real card (8800GT)

    Anyone who tries to game on an 85/8600, is in for depression and suicide.
     
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,614 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I don't get the point in this, the 8500 GT can't make proper use of such amount of memory.
     
  16. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,421 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    And unlike AMD's plans for CrossFire with a whole range of gpus... can't throw 4 of these onto board and have at it.

    (Yeah, I know with the price/performance it still wouldn't make sense vs a stronger card, but suspend reality for awhile and pretend that someone really wants 4 passive 8600GT's with 1GB :D).
     
  17. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    wowsers 1gb .. that should make it easier to sell on ebay ...
     
  18. breakfromyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    virginia, usa
    any more than 256mb on the 8500gt is a waste. The 8600gt is a bit more powerful, and might actually be able to use it. but 1gb? lol
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,967 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    Yes, when the settings are high, but these cards have to play the game at such low settings that it will not use more than 512.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    ''SPARKLE GeForce 8500 GT 1GB and GeForce 8600 GT 1GB Graphics Cards will reach the ultimate performance in latest DirectX 10 games, and users can enjoy no lag and no stuttering gaming experience even at very high resolutions and maximum quality settings."

    Honestly... :D
     
  21. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    So would it be a waste on a HD2600(even 512mb)?
     
  22. ShinyG

    ShinyG New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    186 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Romania
    "unbelievable 3D power"...
    Yup, marketing at it's best!!!
    I remember a couple of years ago when a friend of mine had a 9200 with 256MB ("special" edition) and he insisted it was better that my 9600 with "just 128MB" :laugh:
    So yeah, the saddest part is that these things actually sell... :(
     
  23. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    like turbo cache cards .. lame ...

    can bet its 1 gb of the lames memory ever ....
     
  24. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    I actually laughed when I saw this.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,674 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,506
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    :eek: U need to go green on the graphics m8 :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page