1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sparkle produces first video card with 80nm NVIDIA GPU

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Dec 23, 2006.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Sparkle has officially beaten all the other NVIDIA manufacturers to making a card based on an 80nm GPU. The first 80nm GPU from NVIDIA is a blue 7600GT, based off of the G73 (there is no information on what NVIDIA calls the 80nm version of the G73). The card comes clocked at 650MHz, a full 90MHz faster then 7600GT stock specifications. The memory and memory controller is still the same. The memory is clocked at 1600MHz DDR, and is only 128 bit. The card comes with 12 ROP's, 256MB of memory, and a PCI Express x16 interface. The card should be available in 2007, and offers significant performance benefits when compared to the 90nm version of the same card (roughly 500 points in 3Dmark06).
    [​IMG]

    Source: The Inquirer
     
  2. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    lol why a 7600GT :p?
     
  3. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    2 of them in sli would be perfect if i didn't already have a gfx card :)
     
  4. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    any ideas on pricing?
     
  5. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Bet that could be easily passive cooled, without whole card full of heatsinks. Point being, strap a good cooler on top and OC like crazy (if voltages are not the problem).
     
  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,664
    would the normal method of voltmodding a 7600GT apply to this card aswell?
     
  7. peach1971

    peach1971 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Germany
    Because it´s from Sparkle? ;)
     
  8. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    lmao! touché :p
     
  9. v-zero Guest

    Because it's a simpler architechture to shrink than the high-end cards, but not demoralisingly crap...
     
  10. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    always taking the easy way out :p...lmao, yeah, i guess it was their 'first attempt'
     
  11. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    OK, they should do away with the 128bit memory interface for all new cards. I mean, to plop down money even on midrange with this interface pisses me off!

    -The Eagle
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    not a partial 90mhz faster :roll:
     
  13. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    yeah, 128bit is getting crap
     
  14. Saurian New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    40 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I was under the impression that XFX had released the 80nm 7600 core already on one of their cards. I could have SWORN I had seen hellacious oc results somewhere for it.

    either way, if the price is right it'd make a heck of a card for your second computer.
     
  15. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Yes they did... ATI already did... nvidia are a bit late -_-
     
  16. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Which is why this is news, NVIDIA's first 80nm GPU :).
     
  17. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    what was ATI's first 80nm GPU?
     
  18. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The now famous RV570 I believe.
     
  19. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    yeah i was looking around and noticed the X1950 series is the only one to use them
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page