1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD advice

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Hayder_Master, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. warup89

    warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,131 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    WA
    Well, i Just did my first test on my new Agility 2 and this is the results i got from HD tune:
    [​IMG]

    Beware though, since its a 60gb drive space can be a bit tight, W7 alone took 25gb away, but its not much of a big deal if you install the main programs on the SSD, and the rest somewhere else.
     
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  2. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    474 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Kansas
    OCZ Solid 2 60GB (Indilinx Controller) on my GA-EP45-UD3P (Intel ICRH10) -

    [​IMG]
     
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  3. Ross211

    Ross211

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    474 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    Kansas
    Things everyone should (& shouldn't) do with their SSD -
    *Make sure you have AHCI enabled in your BIOS (If you installed Windows without AHCI enabled, follow this guide - GUIDE - Enabling AHCI mode AFTER Windows 7 Installation)
    *Don't defrag your SSD
    *Take Window$ page file off your SSD
    *Disable preftech, superfetch, & indexing
    *Disable hibernate & system restore

    Enjoy your SSD! :rockout:
     
  4. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    thanx guys that's great, HD tune explain anything
     
  5. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2010
  6. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
  7. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    LOL, i was looking for vertex 2 seems i pass it, thanx bro so this is the last call i think
     
  8. avatar_raq

    avatar_raq

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    294 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Iraq
    Hayder is one of the names of the Lion in Arabic. It's also one of the names bestowed upon an Islamic Shi'ite symbol (Imam Ali).
    Sorry for going off-topic, now: I stand by the advice I gave Hayder Master earlier (b4 this thread!): Get an Intel X25m Gen2 80GB SSD, it's the most reliable, and u can add another one -in the future- in raid 0 without losing trim support. I believe Intel SSDs are the only ones right now that support trim in raid, guys please correct if I'm wrong or outdated!
    Reliability, after all, is the most important thing when RMA is such a pain in the butt in Iraq!
    Cheeeeers!
     
    Hayder_Master says thanks.
  9. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Hayder, is also his name, as I've seen him say in an earlier post :toast:
     
  10. avatar_raq

    avatar_raq

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    294 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Iraq
    It is his real name, I just wanted to explain its meaning ;)
     
  11. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I was just adding to your post so digibucc would also know as he asked :toast:
     
  12. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    nice, you still talking about my name :rockout:
     
  13. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
  14. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    ok here is what i find, OCZ add the sandforce chips in the new product's so all vertex 2 have sandforce 1200 chip and vertex EX have sandforce 1500 chip but it's expensive, so i think stick with vertex 2
     
  15. BababooeyHTJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    I was wondering why OCZ didn't have something like this. I made a post at OCZ forums asking why and obvously never got a response. I'm glad to hear that SSD manufacturers are starting to do stuff like this. Hell a hard drive manufaturer not having a utility to check their drives is unheard of.

    My other big problem with OCZ is that much like they do with their ram they release drives with different flash all of the time. That bothers me for two reasons. One it's hard to really trust benchmarks but that isn't a big deal to me. The second and most important problem that this brings up is that they don't thoroughly test each revision of drive before releasing a firmware update which has caused problems in the past. Hell I had to RMA my Vertex because of this. I also asked why they don't release a firmware as a public beta before a final release. Why not MSI and Gigabyte do it all of the time with their motherboard bios. I was told by a volunteer mod to fill in my system specs. They never used to have these volunteer mods.

    Most of these SSD manufacturers NEED to start thinking like the HDD manufacturers. OCZ has had way more problems with firmware that Seagate has ever had and for some reason they don't catch half of the flack that Seagate has. I can't store my data on something like that. You have to remember that first and foremost it is a storage device. Reliability is far more important to me than a little speed.

    I'm a little put off by these SSDs and tbh after going from the Vertex to a 500GB F3 spinpoint with no tweaks to my windows install I really don't notice much of a difference. No where near as much as a lot of people claim. I'm glad to hear about the steps that Intel is making and maybe one day I'll look into an Intel drive if I'm ever in the market for an SSD again.

    Looks like you are on FW 1.5? Thats what my HDTune benchs looked like when the data corruption started. You may want to image you drive or at least backup data. Then run "Tony Trim" since as free space cleaner will corrupt you drive immediately instead of over time and out of the blue if you do happen to have the issue that has plagued many Vertex owners including myself. My benchs looked just like Ross' with 1.41FW when all was well.

    Also it's really easy to get a windows 7 install under 10GB by just moving the page file and removing hibernation and system restore. In an elevated command prompt (run as administrator) just type in "powercfg -h off" that clears up quite a bit of wasted space. I for one have never used hibernation.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2010
  16. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    guys i have ordered my vertex 2, thanx for everyone
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page