1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD Caching

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Bunchies, Oct 13, 2012.

  1. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    hey, im new to SSD caching. sooooooooooo got a few question

    I was thinking of buying a SSD Cache Drive

    1.But will it support X58 Boards??
    2.If i can put one in my system, Can it work with my SSD Boot drive (i also have 3 Hard Drives)
    3.If i can with my Setup. Are there SSD caching drives that dont make you re-install Win7?

    also does it just do caching for 1 drive or all?

    lol and if there's anything more i need to know just throw it in your post

    :toast: thanks
     
  2. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,791 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,627
    Pretty sure SSD caching is only supported by Intel chipsets that are Z68 and newer.
     
  3. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    yeah. lol ive been told that but not sure
     
  4. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    214 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    North
    My motherboard is a AMD chipset (790FX) and I have SSD caching.

    1 - Yes every motherboards are supported.

    2 - No it won't work with your SSD.

    3 - All SSD caching solution wont make you re-install windows.

    4 - It can only cache 1 hard drive.

    Why do you want SSD Caching? (Since you already have a SSD).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    not sure. just saw them and was wondering if they could benefit me at all. but im guessing not

    but would it work good for my game hard drive?... or is that just unnecessary and a waste of money

    my drive setup is
    ssd - boot & firefox only
    1tb - games only
    1tb - random storage (moved my Temp files on this drive)
    80gb - programs (i moved my users folder on this drive)
     
  6. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,791 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,627
    I imagine you are referring to a software solution, which isn't the way I took his question.
     
  7. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    If you've got an ssd as your primary boot drive, then there's no point i'd imagine.
     
  8. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    214 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    North
    You could see a benefit, if your caching SSD is using SATA 3. I personally have a Corsair accelerator SATA 2 since my motherboard is limited to SATA 2 and my loading speed are a little faster but the main thing is the boot time that has drastically changed.

    I'm referring to NVELO and you were referring to Smart Response? Both are great.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    MT Alex says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    cool, so now im thinkin just get one for my game drive lol

    do you recommend it?
     
  10. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    214 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    North
    If you have a SATA 3 port that is not in use (since you only have 2 sata 3), yes I would recommend it, Crucial Adrenaline or Mushkin Enhanced Catalyst would be my personal choice.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. TheOne

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    225 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    You may also want to consider SanDisk's ReadyCache SSD, it uses Condusiv Technologies ExpressCache software instead of NVELO's Dataplex software, which is used with the OCZ Synapse, Crucial Adrenaline, Corsair Accelerator, and Mushkin Enhanced Catalyst caching SSD's.
     
  12. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    alright cool. how long do these drives usually last for?

    and i take it i should take my game drive off sata 3 and put it on sata 2 and put the cache drive on sata 3

    note i only have 2 sata 3 ports ssd on 1 of them and game drive on other

    lol this should be my last post

    srry for all the questions. i just dont wanna skip anything

    EDIT: looking at the sizes and what size do i get??, my game folder is 46GB and may get bigger later on.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2012
  13. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    214 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    North
    IDK how long it will last but mine is running since 6 months, I had to reinstall NVELO 3 or 4 times, because of the updates and loss in performance. (If you feel like it's getting slower, just uninstall and reinstall than the perf should be back to normal).

    IDK what your performance will be if your hard drive is in SATA 2 and your caching SSD on SATA 3. Maybe someone knows but I don't. BTW it should not be slow.

    With NVELO the maximum hard drive you can use is 2TB. Since your hard drive is 1tb, you should not have a single problem. Like I said my personal choice would be Crucial Adrenaline 50GB or Mushkin Enhanced Catalyst 50GB (or 100GB if the price is low).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    yeah, i just benched the drive on both SATA 3 and SATA 2 and there was only a 1.2Mb read difference lol

    so ill only see improvements with a cache drive
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page