1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD cleaning question .

Discussion in 'Storage' started by trickson, Jul 31, 2010.

1. trickson

trickson OH, I have such a headache

Thanks Received:
    I am new to SSD so forgive me if this sounds silly or dumb . I have heard not to defrag so I am clear on that but what about cleaning and deleting games and putting in new ones all the time ? what does this do ?
  2. AsRock

AsRock TPU addict

Thanks Received:
    The damage is done when you wright to the SSD.

Use command Prompt
    fsutil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify

If the result is '0' TRIM is enabled

I'm on Vista which means i do not have trim funny though had 0 slow downs or any issue in fact ( but think it's handled by Intels drivers ).
    trickson says thanks.
  3. trickson

Thanks Received:
    Ok so once you install a game then that is when you do the damage ? As you are writing to the SSD . Right ?

OH man this is hard to understand ..
  4. AsRock

AsRock TPU addict

Thanks Received:
    trickson says thanks.
  5. trickson

Thanks Received:
    But from what I also understand these "drives" are supposed to last longer than a standard HDD if this is true then installing and uninstalling shouldn't really be a big deal any way . and also this drive has TRIM and Intel recommends you run it once a week . so this should help with all that installing and uninstalling as the TRIM should clear out the blocks with FF not 0 adding to the life of the drive . Am I right on this ? I am really new to this and as it is really fast and I love it I want the most out of it as well . I will be adding a second one soon so I hope to see even faster times ahead ! Any thing you can tell me helps and I really thank you all for your insight and help .
  6. ERazer

ERazer New Member

Thanks Received: