1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD for Just OS

Discussion in 'Storage' started by MoonPig, Nov 29, 2008.

  1. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    SSD for Just OS (Closed)

    Hi,

    Ive had an idea, but need to know if its realistic. Basically, im wondering if this is worth the money to performance gain:

    30GB OCZ SSD : Just Vista Basic 64bit
    500GB Samsung : Everything else (Movies, Games etc.)

    Would this be worth the £60ish for the performace increase. Or would it be better getting the 60GB one and have just games on it?

    Thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2008
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
  3. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    £60? I'd like to know where you got that from.

    I read a review on the 32Gb OCZ Core at £105 and it got slated. The write speeds were shocking (31mb/s at BEST), and it fluctuated a LOT.

    I wouldn't bother honestly, now if it was an Intel SSD for that price I DEFINATELY would, those things rock.
     
  4. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,493 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Question @ PVT, what's OCZ's warranty? If the warranty is lifetime, then I say go for it!!! Do a 30GB SSD for OS and light games. I'm just glad to see SSD under $100. I'm going to pick one up here second hand when the time is right. :D
     
  5. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    PVT, no i didnt see that. Im in UK.

    Darknova, on OcUK

    I said 60ish, because i'd be getting it when price fall again.
     
  6. kyle2020 Guest

    I may have to consider one of these. anything 50GB or so should be spot on for an OS drive, either that or its raptor time!
     
  7. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    get the SSD, honestly raptors are still pricey,
     
  8. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    ok, but is it worth it? price to performance. Will i notice a difference?
     
  9. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    if its just the SSD for the OS then if I'm correct should get vista to start up pretty darn quickly, as far as using it for anything else then another hdd will suffice, on a side note there are better ssd's on the horizon. I'm putting it off till next year since I just bought a hdd. and personally want to wait for windows 7.
     
  10. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    ok first off note the read/write speeds

    note the UP TO*

    you will find the lower capacity ssd's such as this one that sell for around the £60-£100 mark are really quite slow, i doubt this would yield anything like whats quoted for £68.

    if you want a fast hdd why not grab another of the one you have now for raid 0, otherwise dont be expecting results similar to those we have posted here often in the news section for ssd's

    and that said it has a 2 year warranty, no mention of mtbf (mean time between failures) which is considerably lower on cheap ssd's
     
  11. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    ok, for Raid0 would i have to get anything extra, other than the HDD?
     
  12. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I would say get the SSD, fitseries3 has seen upto 170MB/s burst speed on his, don't know how that compares to a Raid setup, but for a single drive you can't do much better.
     
  13. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    damn. The Raid0 option is cheaper, if its just a second drive. But, theres splits decisions. I was hoping for everyone to be the same.
     
  14. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Yes it is cheaper, but going Raid0 for your OS and games can be bad because if anythng goes wrong with the Raid0, you could lose everything, where as with the SSD the OS s seperate from the storage and thus safe.
     
    MoonPig says thanks.
  15. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    alright, thanks. Thats a good point.
     
  16. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    is he using a $100 30gb ssd ? just cause it ssd doesnt automatically mean its faster than an sata drive.
     
  17. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    He has a Patriot Warp, 32GB and retails for $150, he paid $60 for it.
     
  18. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    have you got a link to the review?
     
  19. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    nevermind what he paid for it, it retails at $150 and the link the op supplied is sketchy regarding read/write temps, unless he can find any more info i would advise to steer clear simply for the the price. hell i can find a 30gb one on ebay, what they dont tell you is that the read/write speeds are awful somthing like 30MB/s, but hey its ssd woop woop.

    no offense to you :toast: but i would like to know how fast it is before i actually purchase one, cause atm i have my main wd 640gb with 2 320gb platters and it stomps most non-raptor hdd's out there easy. i can cold boot into windows in 20 secs (booted and usable so im not waiting for other drivers etc to load before i can open up ie/msn/whatever)
     
  20. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    ok ok. I didn't realise they differed so much between sizes.

    Do i need anything else besides the second HDD for Raid0?
     
  21. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    See the reason you got split reviews was because it was depending on what you needed the drive for.

    if only just OS and only the OS nothing else SSD....
    anything else get another hdd.

    just another hdd is fine for raid0

    though you should get 2 and do raid 5,
    because if you drives die in RAID 0 you are in a whole heap a trouble.

    and also lets review the 150/70mb is sequential mean
    the 30mb is possibly a random write, which is one of the reason why I don't buy SSD's because the random writes are horrible,
    and a normal hdd get 90mb/s read write at random, some server drivers and raptors a little over 120mb/s
     
  22. nosboost300 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    109 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    i myself just purchase an ocz solid series drive 30gb.. and it will be in on monday.. i'll let you guys know how it goes :)
     
  23. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    You need to switch up some jumpers, but other than that, only a SATA cable and power cable. Otherwise your set. Get the EXACT drive... otherwise there will be fail.
     
  24. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Ill wait on you.

    By the way people, this is for after new year. Incase any new ones arrive or the prices drop to normal.
     
  25. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    ok, im thinking of getting a second one of my 500GB drive for RAID. Just want to know:

    Do i need anything else, besides HDD and Sata Cable? (Asus P5K)
    Will i have 1000GB of space to use?
    Is the chance of failing high? people always mention it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page