1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD full, but it's not?!

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Jarman, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    Hi, my 120gb ssd is reporting that is has 5mb of free space, but when i highlight everything on the disk and check properties there is only actually 40gb of space used!

    I am pretty sure this has just happened, like the drive has instantly filled somehow, but i've no idea how :/

    Any ideas what it could be??

    cheers
     
  2. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    u have "show hidden files enabled" ?
     
  3. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    yer, got show hidden files and folders - shows 41.2gb of files :/
     
  4. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    just ran chkdsk on windows startup - that found nothing wrong :(
     
  5. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    is it a system drive ? if not might a format could help
     
  6. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    yer, it's the boot drive...i can't imagine it's the pagefile?? Maybe it's protesting against SOPA
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,981 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,711
    Location:
    US
    Some restore points there ?. And when you right click the drive and select properties what size it say the drive is there ?.
     
  8. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    There's one system restore point, but I can't use it because windows says the drive does not have enough space to carry out a system restore.


    [​IMG]
     
  9. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Turn off indexing on your C:, turn off system restore if you don't use it. Turn off hibernation and get rid of hiberfil if you don't use it and clean system files, see how you get on.

    How to get rid of hiberfil.sys as turning off hibernation doesnt:

    Open CMD as Administrator> type: powercfg –h off
     
  10. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,946 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    Is it an Intel SSD?

    EDIT: Hmm, the 320 bug makes it 8MB, and erases itself, so maybe it isn't applicable here.
     
  11. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    pc already had hibernation off. Tried putting that into cmd prompt as you said, told me i had an invalid parameter.

    Might just have to format and hope for the best, ssd is an ocz agility 3 btw
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,365 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,651
    i saw something once eating one of my drives, was something about shadow volume copies. try googling how to clear/delete those.
     
  13. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    just checked and that is disabled. I ran a tool from guru3d months ago when I first got my ssd that configured windows with the optimal settings for an ssd. So i think all stuff like that has been turned off. This is really annoying, i don't really want to format.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,365 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,651
    its entirely possible its that tool thats screwed it up.

    try enabling hidden system files/folders, and not just regular hidden files. it has to be visible somewhere.
     
  15. bbmarley

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    486 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    is there a load of stuff in recycle bin ?
     
  16. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    maybe it did, but i'm sure this has just kind of magically happened - I haven't noticed the space available going down slowly over months.

    Recycle bin is empty, running ccleaner now (it's going very slowly), great app, but I don't think it can help in this situation, I think the filesystem is damaged somehow. Got show all hidden files/folders on - still only 41gb of files.

    ccleaner is taking forever to run for some reason, c:\windows\temp folder seems to be full of garbage, but i've never ran it on this pc before.
     
  17. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    problem solved (for now at least!)

    [​IMG]

    60GB of temp files??! wtf! And why would they not show up on a normal scan when show hidden files and folders is definitely enabled?? :S

    CCleaner is the best free app you can get, everyone should own a copy :)
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,365 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,651
    did you miss this one? i mentioned it before

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    no, must admit i missed that, but why would the system hoard so much junk to the point where it can't cope anymore?!

    Maybe it does have something to do with that patch i installed a few months ago
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,365 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,651
    it could well be that patch, or another program thats caused this.


    i always suggest avoiding modding the OS, as problems always crop up - i recall in the early vista days, people ALWAYS reccomended following some service tweaks for 'gamers' - the early revision disabled wifi permanently, and even after it was 'perfected' it suggested disabling some services 'no gamer would ever need'.

    then halo 2 came out for PC, and needed one. cue thousands of angry gamers that couldnt get their game to launch and blamed it on the game.


    your case might be similar - it was 'tested' and all was fine, but maybe they never tested it over such a long period. or maybe its something else entirely, who knows.
     
  21. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,981 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,711
    Location:
    US
    Yeah i was about to say try running disk cleanup from right clicking the drive and selecting properties
     
  22. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    i did run disk cleanup, cleaned up 5mb of files lol
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page