1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD instead of Raid0 HDDs...

Discussion in 'Storage' started by HiSpeed, Nov 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HiSpeed

    HiSpeed

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    98 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paris France
    Hi Guys,

    I have no experience with SSD.
    I intend to replace my Raid0 HDDs by a SSD (probably a Samsung 830).

    Can I use (without trouble) Acronis True Image to restore an image of my Raid0 (XP Pro SP3) to only one SSD?
     
    Frag Maniac says thanks.
  2. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,380 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,230
    As long as you can load the driver for the controller it should work
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  3. HiSpeed

    HiSpeed

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    98 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paris France
    Which driver are you talking about?

    Have I to install something (for the SSD) on my HDD's before to do an image with Acronis?
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2012
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,507 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,201
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It's tricky because you're going from the RAID driver to the AHCI driver. You need to make sure that the system has the AHCI driver ready to go or it won't boot. You're much better off backing up all of your data and doing a clean installation. I highly recommend upgrading to a newer version of windows though. XP doesn't have TRIM support, not that you need it, but it can be useful to have? What does the rest of your rig have if you don't mind me asking.
     
  5. HiSpeed

    HiSpeed

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    98 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paris France
    Do you mean I can't leave my BIOS set to Raid?
    Recently with one of my PC's using only one HDD, I have been obliged to set the BIOS to Raid before to restore a Raid0 image from my other PC...

    For TRIM, I think the Samsung tool (Magician) can be used with XP...

    Finally, my need is to avoid a new Windows installation...
     
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,507 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,201
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Not if you want TRIM. A modern motherboard might work, but since you're running XP I'm assuming that it isn't new enough, I could be mistaken but I don't think I am. I could tell if you filled in your system specs.
    If I understand you correctly, that is because of drivers if the two machines are the same. I'm a little confused with this statement though.
    Any particular reason, if you don't mind me asking?
     
  7. HiSpeed

    HiSpeed

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    98 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paris France
    My 4 last PC's use Intel Core 2 Duo (3 E8400 + 1 E6400) and the MB's are Asus (P5Q Deluxe, P5Q-E, P5E, P5B-E).

    I have a lot of software/data on them and it's impossible for me to reinstall from the beginning (a lot of years ago) without to spend too much time...

    Keep also in mind that only XP accept to restart from an image when the MB is replaced... (Seven is not capable to do it, it's for me only an enhanced Vista)...
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2012
  8. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,251 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    352
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Clean install of windows 7 would be good with bios set to AHCI or even RAID setting works with 1 SSD
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  9. HiSpeed

    HiSpeed

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    98 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paris France
    That's exactly what I don't want to do ! :laugh:
     
  10. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,162 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,125
    Location:
    Oregon
    XP does not support RAID/AHCI natively. You have to install the driver before your SSD will show up. Unless you use IDE then your image wont work. Anyway you easiest, best proformance solution is to get windows 7
     
    MxPhenom 216 and Aquinus say thanks.
  11. HiSpeed

    HiSpeed

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    98 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paris France
    The required driver for XP is iaStor.sys and it is already installed because I intend to use my raid0 image...
     
  12. peri New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've swapped and changed drive types and raid/non raid setups many times. I've always tried the lazy way of imaging an OS to the new setup, and its probably worked 10% of the time.

    Even if it does actually boot (and doesn't blue screen 2 seconds into windows starting up), it never 'feels' as good as a clean install.

    fwiw, I'd just say start from scratch - its quicker and easier in the long run.
     
  13. HiSpeed

    HiSpeed

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    98 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paris France
    Seriously, I don't remember when my first XP Pro installation was (a long time ago).
    Since, I only use Acronis to copy an image without any trouble.
    The only little thing I have to do is to clean the registry (deleting old drivers, adding new).
    All my PC's work perfectly...
     
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,066 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Just Back up All Your Important Stuff To An External Drive And Do A Clean Install Of Windows 7 With Ahci Set In The Bios. Windows 7 Is Infinitely Better Then XP And You Will Get Better Performance And Support For That Ssd In The Long Run.
     
  15. HiSpeed

    HiSpeed

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    98 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paris France
    You've a great sense of humour... or you work for Micro$oft... :laugh:
     
  16. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,066 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    As a matter of fact, I do work for Microsoft as a Lab Engineer. Still doesn't change the fact that Windows 7 is a better OS.
     
  17. HiSpeed

    HiSpeed

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    98 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paris France
    Damned !

    I'm a software engineer who knew all the Windows versions (8 excepted), and I can tell you...
    that I'm infinitely more performant in using XP than 7 ! :D
     
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,066 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,277
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    XP was good OS at the time, but things have changed and Windows 7 has a lot better support for more current hardware.
     
  19. HiSpeed

    HiSpeed

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    98 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paris France
    I agree but the most important thing for me is to don't waste time with my PC's, consequently I prefer...
    use an old Ferrari instead of a new truck... :laugh:
     
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,507 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,201
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Holding on to XP is only going to hurt you as it gets older and older. Even hospitals are starting to get rid of it. I recommend making a new image with Windows 7 so if you do need to do this again at least you can start again from 7. It does take time to initially set it up, but using an old installation for a long period of time will slow down a machine in itself. I think upgrading is a win/win if your software supports it.

    You can be resistant to the idea as much as you want but it's the best option IMHO. Also may you will find that you don't need half of the stuff you have installed anyways. More often than not that is what happens when I reformat.
     
  21. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,669 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Seriously. Dump XP already; you will be so glad you did. Especially now that you are planning to go SSD (and that kind of throws your "old truck" argument out the window).
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  22. HiSpeed

    HiSpeed

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    98 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paris France
    Yep... an other reason for me to be very scared to go to the hospital... :eek:
     
  23. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,669 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah I would be scared if they were still using a 10-year-old OS that was developed before wireless networking and flat panel displays existed. To say nothing of solid state disks.
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  24. HiSpeed

    HiSpeed

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    98 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paris France
    Bad luck, I can prove you that Seven is worst than Xp for wireless networks (see my signature)... :laugh:
     
  25. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,507 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,201
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    A forum doesn't prove that your right. :confused:
    I also don't call shared web space a good start, no offense.

    Windows 7 isn't a bad OS and neither was XP. The difference is XP is out of support with Microsoft and any security holes that still exist aren't going to get patched, that is why hospitals and major institutions are upgrading now. XP also doesn't support the newer technologies coming out and can't efficiently utilize certain resources.

    Also don't give me the "it is worse" garbage for wireless networks and XP. XP has had terrible wi-fi support from the minute they added. I've had fewer issues with wireless on Vista than I did on XP, and 7 didn't get any worse.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page