1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD not recognized in BIOS

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by A Cheese Danish, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    So I installed some updates this morning, restarted my computer, then my SSD was no longer recognized in the BIOS.
    I swapped SATA ports/cables. Still nothing. I swapped power and still nothing. The drive gets power as the LED's
    on the inside of the drive are lit.

    This is my boot drive, so I'm without a desktop for now and I haven't had time to install an OS on my laptop yet.

    Should I RMA the drive for a new one? Or is there possibly a way to save what I have?
  2. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Have you made sure that AHCI is enabled in BIOS?, it could of somehow defaulted to IDE.
  3. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    I'll have to take a look. I don't remember passing a setting for that.
  4. tritron New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Did you try diffrent sata controler settings ? I would change settings to ide ahci raid and try to boot
  5. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    No settings for AHCI/IDE mode. I'm going to try the drive in my laptop.
  6. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Firmware is up to date. My Lenovo spat out an error: "Error 2100 Hard drive initialization error".

    I think it's time to RMA; unless someone has a better idea.
  7. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    I have an inferior knowledge on SSD's, but doesn't AHCI often slow down and/or cause huge instabilities with SSD-drives? Remembered reading it from some reviews... or is this only in few cases?
  8. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    993 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    AHCI increases performance and activates NCQ and TRIM

    RAID AHCI only activates NCQ so far

    -----------

    Your SSD Controller blew up to the OP
    A Cheese Danish says thanks.
  9. Feizy

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    RMA it, I had a problem with an SSD with the same "failure to initialize" error. It was dead.
    A Cheese Danish says thanks.
  10. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    That's what I was thinking.

    I have the RMA already placed.

    Thanks guys

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page