1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD + PS3 go..no go?

Discussion in 'Games' started by bpgt64, Dec 5, 2010.

  1. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Been playing Grand Tourismo 5 alot, and I love the game, looks awesome on my 55inch LEDTV..but the constant loading screen is starting to drive me insane. Considering buying an SSD or trading up to a Slim....thoughts? I don't really need/want a ton of space on the thing, but when I have to install a game to the HDD and sit at loading screen after loading screen I'll spend some money to cut that time down.. if it would actually do that..

    http://www.tomshardware.com/news/playstation-ps3-ssd-upgrade-loading,11811.html

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2010
  2. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    well it does speed up the loading a lot, so i would say its what you want :)

    I know someone that has added a SSD and it worked out well for him.
  3. SuPeR FlYYY

    SuPeR FlYYY New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i know there are like two hardrives that are compatible with the 360 and one of them is a western digital hdd but i never heard of ps3 hd nor ssd...
  4. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,131 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,137 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,778
    Location:
    04578
    ssds and 7200rpms drives DO make a difference im sorry to say that in say Oblvion its a 30% improvement in load times

    http://boardsus.playstation.com/t5/...ison-HDD-vs-SSD-New-and-Improved/m-p/43584590


    please note the above is a 7200rpm vs SSD not the original 5400rpm drive

    http://boardsus.playstation.com/t5/...r-the-PS3/m-p/31534655?view=by_date_ascending

    The above is 5400rpm vs 7200 rpm

    In general thought there should be a 14-22% reduction in load times going from a 5400rpm to SSD in the PS3 for GT5
    theonedub says thanks.
  6. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,131 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    ^ I stand corrected, I guess things have indeed changed :eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,137 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,778
    Location:
    04578
    the biggest issue is that the PS3 uses a sata 1 controller which is bandwith limited when it comes to SSD but the seek time on the SSD allows it to 1 up everything easily its not a huge improvement but example Crucials $1 per 1gig SSD sale an 80gig SSD for $80 would have been a worthwhile purchase to speed up the PS3
  8. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I Don't really need that much space...I don't store music or movies or anything like that on it...all I store is game saves...which are tiny. And when I need to install a game or two 30 GBs is plenty...I am thinking a Corsair Nova...60 or 30 GB will be plenty..In the entire time I have had my ps3...2 years...I have used about 15 GBs, most of which I could delete. I backed up all the important saves and synced my trophy list. So I am gonna go into Microcenter or Frys tomorow and grab the cheapest POS I can find :)

    http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0351760

    Is looking like a winner
  9. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,137 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,778
    Location:
    04578
    should be a winner just remember i think bandwidth max is 150mb read / write max but not entirely sure that said its cheap and capacity is more then enough i say go for it man
  10. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Yea that drive will be completely throttled back given the SATA port speed but it's the cheapest 64GB drive out there...and 30 GB is...just too small.. IF I could get a 30gb for 50 bucks I'd do it..but SSDs are still overpriced and the cheapest one I can find is 55 with a rebate..and I hate rebates.
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,137 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,778
    Location:
    04578
    yea just go with that one you picked man trust me the seek time will be a god send

    1-5 second improvements dont seem like much but when u add it up on every load screen in a game over the course of time it adds up pretty damn quick i know oblvion for example by map load #3 was like 20% improvement in loading times. that and i can say an SSD does make the PS3 feel snappier in general.
  12. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    I read an article that said ssds are ideal for installing small games on ps3 but DON`T affect loading times v. much (but I don`t remember where!)
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2010
  13. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    There was ign.com video review that said exactly what your were saying. The big improvements came from when the game was loaded directly from the hdd, which makes sence because because the games were being run from the blu ray player not the hdd. I think i will see a performance gain because GT5 installs alot of data to the hdd.
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,153 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,545
    Location:
    Florida
    Remember A few things.

    1. Make sure you get an SSD with onboard load balancing or TRIM FW. Or that SSD will get all F@#$kd up. Performance will actually degrade bad over time. Though it may or may not be an issue since the PS3 uses a journalistic FS.\

    2. SSD's may be fast I personally support the idea of SSD's in PS3's however keep in mind that the load times will only be better if the game pages alot to the drive. Some games read data directly from the disk in certain points/cases If GT5 is like this an SSD will NOT help you.
  15. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    GT 5 asks you at start if you want to install to hdd and it took about 3 hours on my old drive. If the benifit is small I have a 250 gb 2.5 laptop hdd I was going to use for it. And I'll sell the SSD.
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,153 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,545
    Location:
    Florida
    well if you can install to HDD then i imagine it will be quite fast.
  17. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Yea I am getting Hard disk cannot be accessed from the Restore menu on the new SSD...freakin weak...
  18. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,137 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,778
    Location:
    04578
  19. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Yes I am, links are all broken on that page btw
  20. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Booted the PS3 into recovery mode, using a 120GB GB Pheonix drive from my laptop which I KNOW works. Finally installing to the Pheonix drive.....gonna return the Micro Center SSD for a refund so my wife doesn't have a cow.

    I kept trying to rebuild the file system but it needed me to download the 3.5 System file and load it on USB to finally work.
  21. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,426 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Well, I should also note I traded in my Fat PS3 for the PS3 slim God of War Bundle....Estimated time to install 8GBs of Grand Tourismo 5 data.....10 minutes...took an hour with my old drive. Much snappyier, can't wait to see how it does if write/read speeds are THIS much better.
    theonedub says thanks.
  22. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Christ what a difference. Glad that worked out.
  23. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,131 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    That's crazy, its really only took 10mins?! Makes me want a SSD, but first I need one for my PC :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,136 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    PS3 + SSD = waste of time & money. The 360 installs the entire game to the HDD, but the PS3 only installs portions of it. Now if your console was modded and your booting a full game the SSD, it may be a different story :D
  25. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,153 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,545
    Location:
    Florida
    Speaking of off topic I have a 360 just got it 2 days ago a 120gb elite with all the cool stuff. got it for a good deal. looked at it set it up turned my TV down because i forgot the volume was high made an avatar and shut off the consol and immedietly texted people asking if they wanted to trade a ps3 for it. lets get back on topic and stop trolling

    /response

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page