1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD question

Discussion in 'Storage' started by infocus, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. infocus

    infocus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Is Trim supported in Raid or not?According to Anand it is not.I'd like to pick up an SSD for my OS,but not without Trim.I make too many changes to the OS.
    Anyone know of a definitive setup guide???
     
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,415 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  3. Chomes New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Barcelona
    It does support TRIM if the SSD it's not part of the RAID, you have can a pair of HDD on RAID1(the good choice if SSD it's for OS) or 0, and SSD in AHCI mode passing TRIM commands if you use Intel Rapid Storage Technology 9.6.
     
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,415 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I know, thanks for repeating that.

    I stated, "INTEL RAID DOES NOT". That was the OPs question.
     
  5. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Intel just released a new Matrix Storage driver that allows for Trim support on raid arrays.

    TPU had a news article just a few weeks ago.
     
    GSG-9 says thanks.
  6. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,415 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Where is it "cause I looked last night for a new one. And, the last one did not have it (Ver:9.6.0.1014). Linky for newer one please.:)
     
  7. mdbrotha03

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    132 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    QFT

    I also remember seeing an article a litlle while ago.
     
  8. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
  9. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,415 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I was typing as you posted, so I had to redo my post.

    Here dark2099 posted a link here to a newer one.

    This new one...linked here is in french and is version 9.6.3.1001. I cannot find any release info on it. And, I have only one SSD now (boot drive in the wife's laptop), so can't I tell you about raid in the new driver.

    The only news post I could find was this one (same one DonInKansas found) and it is talking about the driver I referred to that Intel had to change the info on in the link I posted earlier.

    EDIT:

    Sorry Don- this lazy butt don't type as fast as you whipper snappers.:)
     
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,991 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,715
    Location:
    US
    Well been using mine in Raid 0 just over a month and both have been well used and still run without issue and speeds as good as i 1st put them in raid and i'm on vista and vista don't support trim.

    Using 9.6 btw
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    The controller must also support TRIM in RAID arrays. There are no controllers currently on the market that do this.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page