1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD Questions

Discussion in 'Storage' started by char[] rager, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    If I just install Windows 7 from the DVD using the default installation program on the DVD, will my SSD already be "aligned?"

    Is TRIM already on?

    Is this tweaker a good program to do all of the tweaking for me?
  2. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,871 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,468
    just make sure windows creates the partition itself, if you have a partition delete it and then restart, and let windows do it all. otherwise it does not get aligned correctly.

    as for trim... i believe it's simply a part of windows 7, no enabling necessary.

    i've never used tweaker
    Boneface and char[] rager say thanks.
  3. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    So, if I make no partitions and this is the first Windows installation on the SSD, it will be aligned correctly?
  4. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,871 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,468
    correct. as long as windows does it automatically it gets aligned properly. i have never heard of a new drive coming with a partition on it , but if by any chance it does delete it, and then restart. as long as there are no partitions on the drive, windows will do everything itself.

    otherwise, it get's aligned to 31k, which shows BAD if you test it afterwards, and was noticeably slower for me.
    Boneface and char[] rager say thanks.
  5. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    Thank you for the useful information.
    digibucc says thanks.
  6. Boneface

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Thanks for the info! Mine is going to be here at 230 so needed this info!
  7. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,871 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,468
    I actually got it from someone else here, but now i can't find the thread.

    that's the beauty of knowledge though:) it is so easily shared...
  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,725 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    Location:
    US
    Don't forget to disable defrag :)..
  9. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    How do you disable defrag? Is simply turning the scheduler off in Windows Defrag enough?
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,725 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    Location:
    US
    Right click the SSD and select properties and click the tools tab then click Defragment now and turn it off there.

    And yes you can turn it off there too but i use HDDs as well..
    char[] rager and Sadasius say thanks.
  11. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    I don't know if you have read my power supply dying thread, but it turns out my system failure was most likely the GPU and not the hard drives.

    I did not know this until I tried to install Windows 7 on my SSD and it failed, leaving a partition behind. When I went to try to install Windows 7 a second time, I could not delete that partition whatsoever.

    What software should I run to completely erase the SSD and start over from scratch? Preferably one that boots from a CD as I can go to the library and burn an ISO over to a CD.
  12. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,871 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,468
    i'm more curious as to why windows install can't delete the partition. the fact that it can't says something bad happened, i have never once had a partition windows install couldn't delete.

    that being said, your best bet is to plug it in via USB adapter to another computer, and then once your in windows go to:

    computer management->storage->disk management.

    carefully select and delete the partition from your disk. just make sure it's the right one.

    at the very least, you will need access to a computer to download a tool-disc, hiren's bootcd for example. it would be much easier if you could plug the ssd into that computer and do it from there, rather than messing with hirens and all that.
    char[] rager says thanks.
  13. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    The problem was caused because Windows failed the installation right at the final step and just froze.

    I left it for 30 minutes and when it continued to be froze, I just flipped the power supply switch off and decided to start over.

    When I went into the menu to install, it showed that 100 megabytes were in a partition allocated for Windows, which was not there when I first tried to install Windows 7. I want a clean drive, because I know how important it is for a SSD to be aligned properly.
  14. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    just leave the system partition there.... it will be aligned, just install it to the next part of the SSD.
    char[] rager and digibucc say thanks.
  15. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,871 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,468
    yeah, that 100mb partition shouldn't cause a problem a)because windows made it, and B) it's not the actual install partition.... it's only there when windows install adds it so i didn't think to mention it.
    char[] rager says thanks.
  16. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    Leave it I will then :)
  17. Sadasius

    Sadasius New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    263 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    I had to fix TRIM on mine and do a registry tweak. I am using the Gskill Phoenix Pro and it using the sandforce 1222 chip I believe. Anyway to make sure TRIM worked I had to do the following tweak found here.... http://gskill.us/forum/showthread.php?t=7056
    char[] rager says thanks.
  18. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    ^^^ I will keep that in mind.
  19. lemode New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    char[] rager says thanks.
  20. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    ^^^ Thank you.
  21. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    vista and win 7 will align the drive correctly when creating partitions. XP wont.

    Win 7 will automatically disable scheduled defrag

    TRIM should be atomatically activated if supported in Win 7


    this is on a fresh install btw
  22. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    if you have TRIM support then there is no other "tweak" that needs to be done tbh. TRIM is the beezneez
  23. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    Is this good enough for a fresh install on an OCZ Vertex 2?

    [​IMG]
  24. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    looks purdy good
    char[] rager says thanks.
  25. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    Thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page