1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD Raid question

Discussion in 'Storage' started by bpgt64, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,580 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I have a Corsair P128 and a OCZ Vertex 60GB. I was considering putting them in Raid 0 and making it my main boot drive. I used to have the Vertex as the OS drive and the P128 as an app drive. Is there a case for not raiding them together? There about the same Read/Write according to there manufacturers website.
     
  2. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,312 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    483
    You'll end up with 120GB of usable space if you do it. It will only use 60GB off the larger drive.
     
  3. Bot

    Bot

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    587 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    maybe 100Gb after NTFS overhead
     
  4. spy2520 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16


    Why would it be so much overhead? I have 2 40GB intels raided and an 80GB intel and both came out to 74.5GB.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,751 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,054
    Location:
    US

    No, it depends on what raid he sets up. If raid 1 it be the smallest drive and if raid 0 it be the total size of drives.
     
  6. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,312 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    483
    I guess it might depend on the controller, but having once mistakenly RAID0'ed a 500GB drive and a 320GB drive (Instead of with another 500GB drive) and having ended up with a 640GB RAID0, I'll have to disagree with your statement.

    RAID0 spreads even blocks to one drive and odd blocks to the other, it needs two identical drives in its common form, and if you use two drives of different size then the larger drive will only utilize a part of the drive identical to the size of the smaller one.

    I am yet to hear of a controller that will do anything else.
     
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,751 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,054
    Location:
    US
    So you lost 200GB even with Raid0 ?. I guess it works like mirroring then and he will only have about 117GB usable space.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page