1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD's

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by cdawall, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    So is it worth it for me to grab 2 more matched SSD's for my pair I already have? The current ones are 230/160mb/s.
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,596 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    Depends how cheap they are. There are/has been some good deals lately on larger SSD's.
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    $40 a pop so $80 total would end up with 4x32GB.
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,153 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,545
    Location:
    Florida
    i dont know if id waste the cash to use that many sata slots. why not just sell the ones you have keep the 80 and buy a single larger SSD
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    Now were is the ridiculousness in that?
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,596 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
  8. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,073 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Theirs no reason to buy an ssd that size anymore. Like someone said, sell em and upgrade
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,914 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah, sell what you have and upgrade to one of higher capacity thats also faster. You will also gain the ability to use the TRIM function, since in RAID it does not work with SSDs so theres no garbage dump on your setup right now. ANd its pretty essential for SSDs TBH.

    I was also looking at that SSD erocker linked. Its good for the price, but as i read more reviews on it in terms of speed it seemed lack luster.
  10. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,862 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon
    What do you mean RAID does not work with SSDs ? NVM You mean trim does not work in RAID?
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,914 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    re-read what I said. TRIM does not work when SSDs are in RAID.
  12. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,862 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon
    I did sorry.......Im getting ready to set up a RAID with SSDs. So why no trim?
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,914 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Not sure, just does not work when in a RAID configuration. Intel is working getting it to work, and which it probably will with their next chipset.
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,862 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon
    Thanks found it. Series 7 only. So no trim for me. I may have to rethink this RAID
    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=21407
    RST 11.2 supports TRIM on RAID 0 only on Intel Desktop Boards with the 7 Series chipsets.
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    Honestly I wipe the drives almost weekly...
  16. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,914 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    And then reinstall windows? Man your going to kill those drives with all the writes.
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    They are like 2-3 years old now and have been on benchmark rigs since the beginning. They might die quicker but I would figure they should be dead by now if it was that bad.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    (old firmware below)

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page