1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

stability issues help please

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by EviLZeD, Jul 7, 2007.

  1. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    hey well recently i tried overclocking my processor (2.6ghz) and it was going well (games programs etc ran fine) but i didnt know if it was 100% stable i used orthos (i think thats the name) when i ran it it came up with an error so i went back to stock.

    i set the cpu at 2.5ghz instead of 2.6ghz this time now when i run orthos my computer just shuts down doesn't restart. i put everythign back to stock (2.4ghz) again and tested it once more and my computer just turns off at stock now when running orthos i use the blend test with ram and cpu priority was 9. I have no idea why the system turns off at stock temperatures are fine no overheating nothing running except coretemp and maybe cpu-z.

    the stress test usually last about 3 minutes until pc turnoff i did clear the cmos and tested at 2.58ghz and lasted 20 minutes it did not crash no errors and i tried it again today but my pc turned off once again so i put it at stock once again and it turned off again at about 4 minutes

    im clueless i dont know why it would turn off even at stock thanks for any help
  2. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    If its just flat out powering off, its likely the PSU..

    Do you have a digital multimeter or could get one? Measure the 12v and 3.3v lines.. before and while it crashes...

    I've never seen any results from hiper so I cannot account for its reliability.. but 580w seems like it could be a problem if the PSU isn't capable of the full 580, with the specs you have..
  3. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    i havent got any access to a digital multimeter and it is just turning off no error messages nothing i think your right it might be the power supply
  4. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    u could try to unplugg stuff off ur PC and see if the rebooting continues.
  5. GumCuz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Check your bios for your voltage monitor. watch it and make sure your voltage readings are close to nominal. if they are bouncing around, or not even close to what they should be, that can cause major instability. Normally, they will vary by .2/.3v, up or down. if it's more than that, your PSU is junk. an 8800gts is a pretty high amp draw card, and may have already been the limit of what your PSU could take. 2.6ghz on a 4600 is NOT very high. you should've been able to hit at least 2.7/2.75 @1.45v before it started getting unstable. It's a possibility you got a dud processor. Also, if your PSU has multiple 12v rails, try moving stuff around. isolate your rails, then try to balance them so there's not a ton of load on one, and not the other(ie: all your hard drives on one, video card on the other). I had a similar thing with a 4xRAID0 array, when all the drives spooled, my rig crashed. Also, since I see you're running 4 sticks of ram, run memtest86, and make absolute sure one of your sticks isn't fried. Just going on what you've said, I'd put money on the power supply too.
  6. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    When I had this problem I changed Power supply and the problem was fixed straightaway- although I disagree with everyone else in the fact that I believe 580W should easily be able to deal with your system. It's more likely the PSU actually has a problem. Alternatively try raising your Northbridge and Southbridge voltages up a tad. I also have a 4600 @2.81 - HT X3
  7. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    you really have a power consuming rig. according to this site http://www.extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine you need 511w from your psu and you have 580w.I don't know about hiper and if they deliver on a full load but i would count on it.

    there is any bsod?(blue screen of death)


    p.s.you have a minimum overclock but keep an eye on the temperature
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2007
  9. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    i think your totally right thanks i had a huge feeling a program was causing it but i thought it was cpu-z and therefore i would leave that closed and always have coretemp open because i used that to monitor temps

    before i tried shutting coretemp i downgraded bios about 3 revision back and its stable with coretemp now and anything running really strange wen i downgraded by 1 revision the stability tests lasted longer before it would shut down until i went back 3 it got totally stable strange..

    thanks for the help guys
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page