1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Start problem and BSOD

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by RoboX, Feb 27, 2013.

  1. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    108 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    Guys I have a problem: the PC (w7 64 bit) does not want to know to start, it loads the screen with the windows logo then turn off your monitor and restart (a few times instead of the monitor is off, I saw a BSOD). Restore tool startup (suggested by the same system in some reboots) failed to solve. I have no previous restore points saved. I tried to start it in Safe Mode but I did it only once, other attempts end up with a reboot after loading the files. That one time I was able to provisionally read something minidumb with bluscreenviewer and I remember that reported "Caused by driver: Raspptp.sys" and underneath was "Raspptp.sys + c0d5" Unfortunately, all the other items I do not remember.

    Do you know what is derived and above all how to solve?
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Raspptp.sys is part of Windows peer to peer protocol. From what I read it is supposed to be there, but I have never crashed an OS because of it, so I have little info on how to solve this, sorry.
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,904 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,488
    Did you try safemode without network connection?

    Also what lead up to this? Did you install anything? Change any hardware? What did you do if it was running ok before?
  4. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    108 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    I have tryed all safemod (also without network)
    I have only disinstalled AMD video drivers then restart
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,904 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,488
    Hmmm do you bootleg or anything? I aint judging you just trying to trouble shoot. Also why do you have restore points turned off?
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,904 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,488
    He cant get into windows.
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,475 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,013
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Take the HDD out and connect to another PC then goto C:\Windows\System32\drivers and copy raspptp.sys to the C:\ drive then delete the one in system32\drivers. Reinstall into the PC and try to boot.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,540 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    625
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Indeed I was able to read this in the OP

    atb

    Law-II
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,904 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,488
    Wouldn't do that man. If he has a root kit or something he could end up screwing up a second PC.
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,475 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,013
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Thats why I said make a copy of it and put it in C:\ so if it doesnt work just copy it back.

    *EDIT*

    And obviously scan the drive before accessing it on host machine.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    *thinks to self memory could cause this issue.

    Is this rig overclocked by any chance?
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,005 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,954
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    +1: If the rig is at stock and it doesn't want to boot in safe mode, it sounds like it could be memory (edit) or the file that it is crashing on. Maybe memtest86+ is in order?
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    I was just going to advise setting the defaults, but if that fault is corrupted, it may not help either.
  14. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    108 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    Hd checked ok
    mem hecked no error
    now i am able to start in safe mode: wath can i do?
  15. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    108 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    I have deactivated the automatic restart and I see the bsod: the code say


    *** Stop: 0x0000001E (0xFFFFFFFFC0000005, 0xFFFFF800044E123F, 0x0000000000000000, 0xFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF)
    Law-II says thanks.
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    it stays running in safe mode without a crash?

    If so I would look into removing whatever driver/software you installed prior to this issue.
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,005 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,954
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Law-II says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page