1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

starting my build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by newguy24, Dec 17, 2010.

  1. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    hey guys im starting my build today...got everything in the mail. was wondering if you guys had any tips for me?? and good you-tube videos, for tutorials??lol..any major tips that i may forget..like about/how to apply the thermo paste?(allot/a little??)anything i may forget...easy way to hiding wires??

    sorry just nervous

    also how long should this take me??:eek:
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,138 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,587
    You could probablly check one of the many other threads you've created about this build. Just take your time, the longer it takes you the better. Yes, I'm sure there are YouTube videos. Go to YouTube and enter "building PC" in the search box. Use the search feature here for applying thermal paste, though if you're using aftermarket cooling, there should be instructions. Use Google to search for you case and see what others did for cable management. Take your time.
    newguy24 says thanks.
  3. Gyres01

    Gyres01

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    My advice....Take your time. A lot of ppl I know get so excited about all the new gear they rush to get it running and break something on miss a plug or two, then spend even more time figuring out what went wrong......
  4. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    case is throwing me for a loop!! lancool PC-k62
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,138 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,587
    How so?
  6. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    it seems like i cant get the screws for the cpu cooler tight enough...they keep spinning and the cpu cooler can twist side to side

    so there as tight as i can get them cpu cooler still spins??? this ok???
  7. Rado D

    Rado D New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    490 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    What cpu and cooler are you using?If the cooler uses those crap plastic push in pins then I might have a bad news for you - maybe you've overtightened one or more and simply broke them..happened to me ..with only one,but then the cooler is useless anyway

    EDIT:and take the advice others gave you already - taking your time..check everything twice,3 times...and dont try to be smart unless you know exactly what you are doing..I've got a funny example for this..When I've build my first rig,I did a silly thing that made me look for the mistake for days..you know those small screws pillars they are holding the MOBO on the chasis of your case..well those are marked exactly for which type of mobo how many and where you have to screw in..now I was trying to be smart and I've put one or two extra,not following the ATX pattern,thinking that this will make my MOBO bend less when I will push something into it,what was actually true...but what I didnt realise afterwards was that one of those screw was touching the MOBO from the bottom,,where one of the RAM slots had its pins...so everything was working allright,even windows was running normally...I just didnt understand why in system(and bios too) it was only showing 4GB out of 6GB RAM I had installed..
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  8. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    hyper 212 plus cooler

    well im screwed :(
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  9. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    i have a lancool-pck62 and a all in one card reader interior , and it seems like it is too small...where would these brackets be??
  10. Smety

    Smety New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    You're not screwed! Can you use the heatsink/fan that came with the processor for now until you find a different heatsink/fan you want to buy? I wouldn't want anything in my computer being "loose" or twisting from side to side...
  11. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    well its on , quite and installing windows 7 now. couple things...
    the cpu twist a little but doesn't seem to be an issue(yes i tighten it all the way, ill keep an eye on temps)
    also i couldn't figure out how to install the all in one card reader seems to be too small, and i cant find brackets for it....eeerrrr
    also the cpu fans seem to be running LOW how can i max them out

    i hope everything works out....now i just have to install and update drivers :(:ohwell:
  12. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,748 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    First off let me say congrats on the first new build!!! Boy... I can remember mine back in the day... I was nervous too......

    You see there comes a time in any mans life that..... Oops thats another conversation.

    Anyway if you Google "Build a computer tutorial" Or something like that you can find many videos.

    Actually when I started building one of the ways I found video tutorials that worked better was to Google individual processes. Like " How much thermal paste to put on a CPU" or " How to install RAM" or " How to install windows"

    Doing this I found more helpful videos then an all around tutorial.

    Hope this helps and good luck.

    Remember don't rush bud :)
  13. Rado D

    Rado D New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    490 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Well I hope then that you wont smoke your cpu :ohwell:
  14. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    ya i found the videos on youtube to really help thanks! just cant find one on the "all in one card reader" but ill look....

    also i hope i don't burn it up either!! ill be watching temps closely.
  15. Smety

    Smety New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    newguy24,

    I agree with your idea, just watch the temps closely and make sure they are at a stable base point. As for increasing your heatsink fan speed, in some motherboards you can set that in the BIOS. Otherwise I'm sure there is some third-party software available that can do this as well.
  16. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    i cant seem to get the speakers working.....i believe its a software problem. i don't have a sound card yet its just using the mobo sound....i have some very cheap 3-1 combo...and a gig x58-usb.
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,905 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    Florida
    thats a huge issue.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8l2h0nYGAdk&feature=player_embedded
  18. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
  19. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    ok now what? any thoughts on what to download? i have updated all the drivers i can think of...(not many) do i need to do bios?chipset? i used the disk....also rivatuner wont work...errrrr any other thoughts on what i need to put on this rig?

    feel like the resolution could be better when i turn it up all the way i can see the outline , as if the screen is too small for monitor i have it at 1680x1050...when i put it to 1920x1080(recommended) then thats when it seems to not fit in screen


    now when i reboot the monitor goes to a connection mode i cant see anything i have to power it off then back on



    eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr


    edit---seems like i cant change fan speed, wow one thing after another
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,979 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,749
    they only way he can change the cpu fan speed is if the fan is the 4 pin connection to the board. if so they he can just go into the bios to like the PC Health section whatever it is and change it.

    Also newguy if the screw for the cooler just are spinning and just not giving you any resistence then you stripped the threads or over torqued them
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  21. 2wicked

    2wicked

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    260 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Directly above the center of the Earth
    The bolts that go on the backplate have a flat side You may have stripped that. my hyper 212+ always would twist also it's just the way the mount is held down in the center and should still have good pressure on the cpu.
  22. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    thats good to hear, there not stripped but good to hear your 212 did that.
  23. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    LOVE IT, when i get a system where i can change fan speed in bios..cant overclock gpu in anyway....i cant find a program to do it...no ati tools...no riva tuner...no msi....and to top it off the i cant install card reader(to small for area 25 for a 3.5 spot...no brackets)...wow i must be an idiot

    yes thank god i spend 1400$ ON THIS!!!

    the picture doesn't even look much different then my 19inch non hdmi...

    pros--
    fun building a system
    system runs good and quite..
    cons--
    system runs ok not as fast as i thought it would want it 4.0ghz but d/k how
    cant touch half stuff in bios and most programs for fan control and overclock wont work
    d/k if i updated everything yet...do i need to do bios for GPU?motherboard? if i do then when dont they put updated drivers on cd's


    just one big headache taking a break!!
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,979 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,749
    okay dude. chill

    My first rig i wasnt too happy about it. it was loud but thats because i was use to dell computers fans running at 5v.

    Dude the only real way to adjust fan speeds for your cpu and case fans is to get a fan controller.

    The new version of MSI Afterburner allows overclock on ati 6 series like your card.

    the picture quality probalby doesnt look any better probably because the monitor isnt very good.

    Speed of a computer isnt all about the memory and CPU speed. the hard drive has a lot to do with it as well. if you get a slow hard drive your computer is going to be slower then you think because the cpu and memory are basically bottlenecked

    Send your card reader back and get a 5.25 reader instead

    To access overclocking for your cpu in the bios you need to probably do a BIOS update. You dont need to do a bios update on your GPU. just need to get MSI afterburner and 10.12 catalyst drivers, DONT EVER USE THE DRIVERS ON THE DISKS!

    EDIT: nvm you have a good monitor and hard drive.

    What drivers are you using for your 6870??

    Why did you waste money on 12GB of ram. you could have just gotten 6GB and used the other money for a better GPU, SSD, or CPU cooling
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  25. newguy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    382 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    ---was told 12gb is good, plus only cost me 140$ not bad at all....how do i double check my memory is running at correct 1600mhz??
    ---the cpu cooler i hard was good for the price, im not having issues with it, ill be installing two LED 120mm fans on each side it should do good.
    ---the SSD is coming soon, ill see if i can send the card reader back but the read was a package deal with the case....so it has to fit!! i just cant figure out how it does??? any help would be great!!:respect:
    Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, L...
    ---as for the drivers on the gpu, i have driver date of 11/25 i believe i have updated to the latest , i have XFX hd6870 , i guess i just expected to much?!?!:shadedshu
    ---as for the bios, i dont get why they dont give you the latest version.....i have GIGABYTE GA-X58-USB3 LGA 1366 Intel X58 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard , i went to website and cant find the dam bios update....any help there??

    thanks again

    john

    edit--after looking at my device manager i have a bunch of outdated drivers...cpu is 2006...monitor is 2006....i go to the manufactures site...but doesnt want me to find them....what to do :?

    also know any good fan controls?
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page