1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Startup Programs other OS

Discussion in 'General Software' started by fragfeaster777, Apr 18, 2009.

  1. fragfeaster777 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey there,

    I had Windows XP SP2 installed in a RAID 0 array, and the setup was working perfectly for many months. 2 days ago I installed Norton Antivirus 2009 and updated it. When I rebooted my PC, for the first time the Windows Log In screen showed up. When I clicked my user name, Windows attempted to log me in, showed me the desktop for a split second (no icons, just wallpaper) then immediatedly displayed the logging out screen and sats on the log in screen again.

    The same thing happens in Safe Mode, whether you log in as the Administrator or as my user name.

    So I suspected that one of the Norton files was not allowing me to gain access to my PC. I did a quick google search, found some examples of the same problem but with no solution.

    So after messing about, I resorted to installing a spare hard disk and installing the very same Windows XP SP2 on that hard disk. So basically now I can boot up the 2 operating systems simply by changing the Boot order of the array or spare hard disk in the BIOS.

    I booted up the "new" OS (ie the OS I can get to the desktop with) deleted all the Norton files and folders manually and tried the Symantec Norton Removal tool but with no luck.

    Is there a way to see which startup files my original ("old") XP OS loads up when it starts? Or is there a way to modify the registry of the original OS whilst being in the "new" OS? I think I need to control which programs are starting up in the "old" OS to allow me to get to the desktop and then take it from there.

    Or if anyone has any other suggestions, I would be very happy to try them!

    Thank you for any help!
     
  2. orphy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Your original problem is easy to solve form the new os you installed go to windows>system32 and copy the file userinit.exe copy this to the same place on the old system and it will fix your problem.
     
  3. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    then, remove norton and distroy the disc... and never install it again. download AVG its free and works greats...
     
  4. fragfeaster777 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey Orphy, thanks for your reply

    Unfortunately moving the userinit.exe did not work: The new OS designates my oriniginal C: drive as D: drive, so I just moved the userinit.exe from the C: driver to the D:\windows\system32\

    I also tried moving the usrlogon file but that did not work either

    Cheers bud

     
  5. orphy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Usaerinit should work its a fairley common prob i have in my shop. What size is the userinit file you are copying?
     
  6. fragfeaster777 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The file size is 24.0kb!

     
  7. orphy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    well that seems ok with the new os have you done all of the updates as microsoft updated the userinit in 2008 i think
     
  8. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,639 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,753
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  9. fragfeaster777 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks Viper, but I keep my System Restore off due to performance reasons, and I don't install many applications anyway that could screw up my PC.

    Who would have ever known the Norton would cause all this mess

     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page