1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Steam Games

Discussion in 'Games' started by Wozzer, Feb 28, 2009.

  1. Wozzer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    England
    Hello all,

    Im going to reformat windows later next week. However - I don't want to download my steam games again due to my silly download limit.

    Is there any way I can back up the games, and if so - what do I do...

    :toast:
     
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,805 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Just backup your Steam folder in program Files, all your games and info is in that folder. I use a seperate drive/partition for games/storage/programs so I don't lose stuff when I decide to change operating systems. Then just run steam.exe from that folder after the new OS install and it'll setup the client and you're set!

    :toast:
     
    Wozzer says thanks.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,106
    [​IMG]
     
    Wozzer says thanks.
  4. Wozzer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    England
    I should know, but in all honesty - I'm not sure how to re-install my OS without deleting files.

    However - I don't want to keep ALL my files, so I think its easier to just delete the lot and restart everything. It might speed the PC up a bit.

    Thanks any way :thanks:
     
  5. Wozzer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    England
    Nice one Erocker. Would thank you, but theres no button :)
     
  6. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    623 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    [​IMG]
     
    Wozzer says thanks.
  7. Wozzer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    England
    I know where it is - It just wasnt showing. Is now ;)
     
  8. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,805 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    A clean slate is the way to go, I definately recommend making an OS partition or using an OS drive, then install your programs, games, and other storage goodies on the larger D: (or whatever drive letter you choose) that alleviates a lot of issues like this, and when you go to install a new OS you can do the format and clean install method that I prefer to use. I have never used the backup button, probably a better method tho!

    Seeing that you have a 500GB HDD, making a 30-40GB OS partition is a good idea imo. Everyone has their own methods and some don't like having an OS partition or drive, to me it only makes sense especially with the situation you've been inquring about! Keep us posted!

    :toast:
     
  9. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Backup "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps" folder...

    Reformat and reinstall your O/S.

    Install steam again. Log into steam. Then log/exit out of steam.

    Transfer steamapps folder back.

    Log back into steam...and all your games will be there.

    I have done this many many times!
     
    Wozzer says thanks.
  10. Chryonn

    Chryonn

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    London, England
    i'm with ktr on this one. simple case of copying/moving a folder from one drive to another without the need for any overlong backing up process. but kudos to Steam for including a backup feature.
     
    Wozzer says thanks.
  11. Wozzer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    England

    Stupid question time....:rolleyes:

    I take it when you place the windows CD into the computer (Give it a restart and make sure BIOS is set to launch of CD) - Will it ask me to whip the hard-drive?

    If so - I'll whip it all.

    I then go for a new install - And some way through the install it will ask me if I wish to make a partition ? I then choose how big it is and bingo :)

    :toast:

    PS - I should know this being a level 3 student, but I dont want to cock it up.
     
  12. Chryonn

    Chryonn

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    London, England
    during the preliminary setup, Windows asks you if you want to wipe (or whip :p) the entire hard drive or if you want to install on a different hard drive or a partition. although i've never done it (but it's looking like a possibility for future installs) i can't remember if it allows you to make the partition there and then. or if you need to get into DOS and use FDISK to make a partition.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page