1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Steam & slow internet

Discussion in 'General Software' started by i nEeD HeLp, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. i nEeD HeLp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    210 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    i dont know if this goes into the games section or software :), but anyways

    I have a really slow internet connection and with shogun 2 i am FORCED TO USE STEAM, i bought the retail disc to avoid any downloading but still had to download a update ( i think it was 600MB) to play that took over 14 hours :banghead: on one pc. now there is another 3,020MB patch to download.

    i have to PCs and was wondering if you could download it once then transfer it to the other? because Downloading twice would be a huge pain in the ass. :cry:
     
  2. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    If it's the same steam account you can install the steam client onto the 2nd pc and copy over the games folder, if you google backup steam it will give you more precise instructions as I haven't dfone it myself but it can be done.
     
    i nEeD HeLp says thanks.
  3. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,546 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    855
    You should be able to yes. You could even download the whole thing on the other computer, then copy the game files into your steam folder on your computer.
     
    i nEeD HeLp says thanks.
  4. i nEeD HeLp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    210 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    i already installed on the other pc, my little brother plays on that one. stupid me i went online and it checked for updates and now i cant play it on my laptop until it downloads. 48+hours.

    at least i dont have to download twice
     
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,933 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,688
    Location:
    US
    Yes just copy the steam foler to the other PC if it's the same account.
     
    i nEeD HeLp says thanks.
  6. i nEeD HeLp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    210 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    where are save games located, cause my bro has a other campaign then me and i dont want to delete his
     
  7. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,577 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    Check here -- C:\Users\...\AppData\Roaming\The Creative Assembly\Shogun2
     
    i nEeD HeLp says thanks.
  8. i nEeD HeLp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    210 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    yeah the saves are there.
    thanks
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page