1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Still getting emails for thread subscription after setting to no emails.

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by Frag Maniac, May 26, 2012.

  1. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    622
    Is this a bug, or does it take a week or more to stop getting them? I double checked my Edit Options settings, and it's still set to what I changed it to, which is no emails for thread subscription, but I keep getting the emails.
     
  2. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,825 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Delete your cookies and see if that sorts it.
     
  3. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    622
    I doubt that's it. I ran CCleaner at default settings (which among many other things cleans cookies) just prior to seeing more emails appear in my inbox.
     
  4. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    622
    Opened up my mail box today and STILL getting the emails. Can an actual STAFF member here reply and tell me why this is or what can be done to stop them? This IS a feedback thread after all.
     
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,599 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937
    That's strange.
    Whenever I had email subscriptions and removed them it worked fine.

    Can you please post a screenshot of your settings?
    Don't misunderstand me, it's not that I am not believing you but perhaps you missed out something?
     
  6. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,458 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,053
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    Have you set the threads you are subscribed to as "No email notification" here?
     
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,212 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,995
    Location:
    Home
    Never had any problems, take a screenie to show us what your settings are?
     
  8. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    Receive Email = uncheck all boxes
    Default Thread Subscription Mode = Do not subcribe
    Private Messaging = uncheck Receive Email Notification of New Private Messages
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,225 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,267
    Maybe I can help clear things up.

    The option in the User CP under Edit Options is for the Default Thread Subscription Mode. This means when you subscribe to a thread, how it is handled. Basically, what happens when you first post or reply in a thread. This setting does NOT affect threads that you are already subscribed to, it only affects threads that you subscribe to in the future.

    To stop receiving email notification for threads you have already subscribed to you have to manually change the subscription setting for them here.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    622
    Here's a screen of my settings for thread subscriptions:
    [​IMG]

    Now that I think of it, it could be the problem is that I use Iron as a browser. CCleaner cleans Chrome cookies, but I don't think it cleans them for Iron, even though Iron is pretty much compatible with everything Chrome is, including most websites.

    So what I'll do is manually clean my Iron browser history. That might fix it. Still curious as to why cleaning cookies is required after a settings change on the site side, but I'm willing to log back in to all the sites I visit if that's what it takes.

    (EDITED)
    OK, cleared my browsing data. Hopefully that will fix it. Wish CCleaner would get up to speed and recognize what a great browser Iron is too. Best I've ever used.

    Sorry for the impatience guys, this was likely the problem. :eek:
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2012
  11. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    622
    Just to update, instead of getting flooded with emails for every thread I participate in, I just get one every time someone responds in the ASUS GTX 670 TOP thread, weird. At least it's better than it was.
     
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,946
    that
     
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,225 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,267
    It is just Chrome with a few settings tweaked...
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  14. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    622
    Actually no it isn't. It has a lot of the code rewritten.
    Like I said above, already did that, and it didn't fix the problem. The cookies need to be dumped too, which I did manually since I found out CCleaner doesn't dump Iron's, just Chrome's. I still get the one email notice for the ASUS GTC 670 TOP thread though.
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,225 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,267
    No, it doesn't. It uses Chromium to render all the pages, it just tweaks some settings(removing some completely). It doesn't even use a different UI.

    Most of changes they've made is just a setting in Chrome that is on by default and they've just set the option to off and removed the option so it can't be changed. The exceptions are Installation-ID(no big deal), RLZ-Tracking(again, no big deal), and Google Updater(lean to disable services, no big deal). That isn't really a lot of code re-written.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page