1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Still not quite sure....

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by farlex85, Dec 31, 2007.

1. farlex85

farlex85 New Member

Thanks Received:
    I cannot seem to decide which way to go when it comes to the new video card. Let me preface this by saying that I don't really care about benchmarks or max frames, 30 or so per sec will do me just fine. However, I would like to play the latest and greatest in games (i.e. Crysis), and I would like the card to last a while. Also, I am a college student and currently my funds are limited.

So, I am leaning towards evga's 8800 gts for the reason of its step-up program. If what I have been reading is true, I will be able to step up to a 9800 when they are released in a couple of months. Anyone done this before? Thing is, I know that is the best card of the bunch I am looking at (8800 GT 512, 8800 GTS 512, 3870 512, 3850 512), however as far as best bang for your buck it seems to perhaps be the worst. Thats why, taking into consideration what I am looking for, I was wondering if one of these other cards will suffice.

Also, how important is dx 10.1? Is that going to be a big jump or just a minor improvement?

2. Hawk1 New Member

Thanks Received:
    Don't know about the step up program, but what if the release of the 9800's get delayed beyond the 90 days? If you get screwed that way, and can wait a bit, I would until you get more solid confirmations of the release date. 8800gt and 3870's seem to be the best bang for the buck right now (with the gt having a better performance edge over it), but to be honest, I think your CPU would bottleneck most of the cards you listed, so consider changing that at some point also. Also, DX10.1 doesnt mean squat right now (esp. if your not switching to Vista any time soon). Maybe in 9-12 months, but I doubt it even then.

farlex85 says thanks.