1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange blue screen all of a sudden

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by vziera, May 1, 2012.

  1. vziera

    vziera

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    lol
    Check this out brah!:
    [​IMG]

    Strange as it happened out of nothing, my gpu isn't overclocked and is 100% stock. This shit happend out of the blue while I was playing NFS The run for less than 15 minutes.
    and I'm pretty sure it has nothing to do with the 295.40 driver since I've been using it for almost 2 months without an issue before. Now I can't even boot windows anymore. Anybody knows what happend?
    thanks
    Last edited: May 1, 2012
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    thats a Video driver causing the problem.
    vziera says thanks.
  3. vziera

    vziera

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    lol
    how did you tell it brah?
  4. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    nvlddmkm.sys = Nvidia driver
    and drop the "brah" its annoying :nutkick:
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    ok the driver states NV on the front of it

    both ATI and Nvidia put their markings on the drivers for troubleshooting and easier to find solutions. You either have a failing video card or the driver youre using is crap. Less the game needs patching
  6. Dacur

    Dacur

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Denmark
  7. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    bad stick of ram or cooling fail or cpu degrading from OC could also be the culprit
    vziera says thanks.
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    it states his video card isnt OCd, neither his CPU. Id ram test the machine using memtest 86 to verify if there is a failing Dimm
    vziera says thanks.
  9. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,238 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    How about stress testing the GPU with OCCT? (with error check on)
    vziera says thanks.
  10. vziera

    vziera

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    lol
    Okay first off thank you for your concern mates! :'D
    I'm replying to this thread in safe mode and no, I can't test anything in safe mode, all the browsers are unable to download even in safe mode with networking. Ive tried to install ver.285.62 driver which is three generations older than the latest one(ver 296.10) and No Luck. The other unusual thing being a long graphic card detection phase(black screen) after I restart from blue screen. Startup repair didn't help as well. This is my only desktop and I got no spare components to test with so I think I'm ****d lol
    wait, this 980x used to be Ocd to 5.999ghz 1.8v with LN2 by an old friend for less than a day, could this have anything to do with CPU degrading from heavy OC? but I've tested this 3.8 ghz with prime95 blend for 14 hours + 9 hours of FAH few days back and it was rock stable :\
    Ah is it really the ramdac gets fried? damn it aaaaaaaaaaaarghhh
    thanks again mates! :'\
  11. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    You're system specs indicate that you have a AMD Radeon HD5870, probably stashed somewhere, locate it and replace the GTX580 with it to see if its your card that is failing, it could be you're card that is failing coz of the long period it takes while system is booting up according to you're info.

    Or just remove the card from your motherboard for while, clean your system then put it back in and see if it will perform normally.
    vziera says thanks.
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,921 (7.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,501
    Back up your stuff and reinstall. See if that fixes the issue.
    vziera says thanks.
  13. vziera

    vziera

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    lol
    well the 5870 has been sold a long time ago, I remember it clearly.
    Okay I'm gonna do the cleaning and see if it will heal by weekend.
    THanks brah!
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,528 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Like MM said, I would do a FULL format and re-install windows with the latest stable drivers.

    [​IMG]
    vziera says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,184 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,137
    Hey Brah



    That is all I have to contribute due to the Brahs in this thread making my head go all "Yo Brah"
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  16. vziera

    vziera

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    lol
    I hate it when I had to do it in the end but thanks, will do!

    you guys are real brahs, no worries ;)
    Last edited: May 1, 2012
  17. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,184 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,137
    S'all good.


    Try uninstalling the drivers in safe mode first.
    vziera says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  18. vziera

    vziera

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    lol
    I've tried it, no luck. I can boot up into windows again after I driver-swept the driver in safe mode but when I tried to detect my GPU on nvidia's site(in windows), the site was no longer able to detect the presence of my GTX580 frown.gif so I stopped right there because I doubt reinstalling driver will do it. Oh well, I don't know how long I will let myself stuck in 800x600 like this lol
    still, I got a bad feeling that there might be something wrong happend to my card physically since it was all of a sudden, been like more than two years without a hitch :S

    I'll let you all know the result after I clean and reseat the entire component and reinstall the windows, thanks!!!!!
  19. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    207 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    brohs before brahs ???

    y u say brahs?... should it not be brohs?



    its brohs for men... brahs for women... in my arrogant opinion...
    vziera says thanks.
  20. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,121 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    I used to have this error on my systems but unsure if its caused by the same thing your experiencing.

    I tried everything I could think of after reading countless solution and probabilities on the internet and forums. Yes from reg-cleaners to manualy removing driver files out with a ATI card in safe mode and the good old clean OS bare hardware install.

    I run Windows 7 SP1 64-bit. For some strange reason or another Nvidia drivers dont like coming out of Halt-state sleep while windows 7 is run in aero. Even more so if you run a WMC. Some driver versions are better than others but still the issue is there. I think it has to do with how the driver handles 3D phases and power management. Some site speculate that its the way the nvidia drivers communicate with portions of DirectX thats why some people see it in certain areas or after a new game is installed when the DX Lib is updated when installing a game on a system.

    For me i minimized the problem by turning aero off and I got rid of the BSOD problem. Although I still get the occassional 1-2 second screen-refresh all of a sudden, when a driver fails and it resets. The joy of that.
    vziera says thanks.
  21. vziera

    vziera

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    lol
    Yo brohs!, look what I got here:
    [​IMG]

    It's the card!, the card was the culprit. So frustrated I took it back to its distro today, they tested it on there system with only 15" monitor(OMG I knew they kinda tried to cheat) and thank God the card died on them(even worse,yay) right after they installed the driver. Not feeling like admitting there defeat, they tried to boot it up over and over again and luck be on my side they finally gave up stating that I was right that the card was really ****d up, they then told me that the rma would take about a month or so and offered me a backup card which, the best backup card from AMD was the HD4670 I'm using in above pic. The brand was power color, seems to be a solid brand of ATI card. I like it when they confidently said that the card was in healthy condition. I tested it right after I got home, Using AMD's own GPU detector, I installed the driver and had some strange problem stopping the driver download process at 98% with a warning message(I don't recall the message), and then I pressed retry and the download process continued until completed. I restarted, tested on cinebench, and voila! it seemd to be rock stable :toast: One thing I find myself hard to accept is the fact that I can hardly continue my skyrim, ME3, Batman AC, and amalur at full experience:(
    Oh and is there anybody who's also got a feeling that my PSU was prolly the culprit as well? :\
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Normally when switching between AMD and Nvidia You want to thoroughly remove drivers (NV is very well known to prevent other makes of cards being used)

    You also switched from a 580GTX which was NVs top end to a 3 Generation behind Top Mainstream Board

  23. vziera

    vziera

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    lol
    I did it using both nv's own driver uninstaller and driver-sweeper from softpedia prior to installing the red driver so don't worry about that brah ;)

    and yeah I've got nothing but to get over this sucky situation lol

    My lil brotha just got home from camping and he told me that there was a thunderstorm and loud thunder claps occurred several times outside back then. I also just realized that our E4200v2 router turned out dead as well so I suspect the thunder claps killed it back then. I'm still thunderstruck at how the lightning could reach my GPU and killed it without killing the whole components o_O
    I've got a bad feeling about this, maybe the rest of the components are degrading already?
  24. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,121 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    I wouldnt get that paranoid.:twitch:

    If you check the official nvidia forums people still have problems with that BSOD even with latests beta drivers.

    As to why its caused to your specific situation, thats the tricky part.

    I say be like Obamas campain manager said, "Never let a good crisis go to waste." Good excuse for an upgrade.:rockout:
  25. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,068 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Ok so you're getting a new card then? Good to hear. At least some good came from it and you're not just hung out, to dry. :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page