1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange CPU temp

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Grasshopper, Aug 5, 2008.

  1. Grasshopper New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    I'm runing E8400 with Xigmatek S1283 cooling at stock. Everest shows CPU temp at 32°C and core1 and core2 at 50+°C.
    Is this normal? I'm planing on bringing the CPU up to 4GHz but first I need to sort this out.
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I suppose it depends on your ambient temps and case flow.

    Core temps are usually about 10*C higher than CPu temp.

    What does coretemp and realtemp show for temps?

    Either that or you got an e8400 with a bad sensor (seems quite common)

    Also are these idle or load temps?
    Grasshopper says thanks.
  3. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,345
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    With realtemp you can do a sensor check to make sure they are working properly, if they are not or one of them is not then your readings will be skewed.
    Grasshopper says thanks.
  4. Grasshopper New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    The ambient temp is 28°C - 30°C. I'll check with coretemp and realtemp when I'm home (I'm at work now).
    How to do a sensor check with realtemp?

    Edit: These are idle temps.
  5. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,345
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Just click on the button in realtemp, it will then give you a figure for each core with instructions, that will tell you.
  6. Katanai

    Katanai

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    939 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    If I remember correctly that CPU had problems with certain mobos regarding this same issue. So it could be that the program is just reporting the temperature wrong.
  7. Grasshopper New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Thanks, mates. I've just got home and I'll run Realtemp and see what will hapan. :)
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2008
  8. Grasshopper New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    It shows 34°C-38°C with 10%-15% load and ambient temp of 32°C. Thats more normal.

    Now is there software which I can use to control the speed of the CPU fan? It's runing at full speed becouse Windows think my CPU is overheating.
  9. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    try speedfan
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,702 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,861
    Your motherboard BIOS should allow you to control the speed of the fan.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,345
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    +1......normally under "hardware monitor" or a similar name.
  12. Grasshopper New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Speedfan doesn't seems to work. I'll see what I can do in BIOS.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page