1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange problems with my Auzentech X-Fi Forte

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Semi-Lobster, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Recently my speakers and headphones are producing this weird, loud buzzing, tapping and cracking noises. I've switched my speakers and headphones with different ones but it seems that the sound card is my sound card seems to be the main problem. I have the latest drivers as well for it. Is there something wrong with my sound card? Is there a way I can test it?
  2. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Have you changed anything recently? Is there anything that could be generating interference?
  3. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    933 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    403
    I had the exact same problem with my Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1 card. I thought for sure my Logitech speakers were crapping out and I chased my tail for a while trying to get this figured out. I finally ditched the Auzentech and put in an old Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS from the closet and my problem was solved. I liked the 7.1 out from the Auzentech but I didn't like the random static.
  4. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Not a thing, I spray out the entire case with compressed air every other month but thats about it
  5. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Yah I think this is a static problem to, the weird bumps in sound and crackling sounds sort of sound like static (but sort of strange static) but also sometimes the output only comes out of one speaker rather than both (2.1 set up) as well. I was hoping I could fix it seeing as I dropped $100 for the X-Fi Forte
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2010
  6. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    might be interfereing electomagnetic waves. try covering the card in plastic coated aluminium foil.

    roll the foil over the card and staple the ends together. make sure not to short circuit anything.
  7. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I think I've solved the problems, it was infact the 3.5mm cable I was using itself, part of it was exposed and frayed right in the middle of the wire. Unfortunately the cable is directly attached to my subwoofer. Even though I have soldering equipment, I'm far too lazy to try to solder it myself so I thought 'screw this' and bought myself a new Edifier E3350 speaker system and the static has gone away. Also they're a great speaker system!
  8. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    You said you switched your speakers and headphones with different ones and I gather, still experienced the problem—so if the cable in question is directly attached to your subwoofer (and thus you wouldn't have been using it with the other peripherals), that can't be the problem.

    Am I misunderstanding something?
  9. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Hmmm you're right.... now that I think about that, it doesn't make a whole lot of sense either :confused:, that might explain some of the static but there must be something more. The problem seems to be solved now but I'll keep looking.
  10. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    933 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    403
    That used to happen to me all the time too. Just when I thought the problem was solved, it would always come back again. It didn't go away until I swapped the Auzentech out and since then, it has never happened again.
  11. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,586 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    One thing I noticed is that when I leave music paused or WMP open for extended periods of time (mostly WMP) that I will get static when something is played back...any kind of sound...be it music, game or video. But if I close the programs making sound and start them back up I'm ok...though WMP must be closed via Task Manager. It doesn't happen too often anymore in 7...but still does every once in a while...I still dig the forte. I generally use WMP/Media Center for movies, Winamp for tunes, etc. Leave a sound process going too long and something about the forte and it's drivers messes up...do what I described above and it should alleviate the issue...I haven't had to restart because of it since I figured this strategy out, nor is it ever an issue for long. Maybe this will help more people...it's a bitch because it has to be done...but I barely even notice I'm doing it anymore lol. Maybe there's an easier way...and I think I'd point my finger at Auzen drivers vs WMP.

    :toast:
  12. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Well its happening again. Just when I thought I killed the problem my new glorious speakers are pumping out staticy mush intermittently and then playing crystal clear the next and have come back to the conclusion that the problem is the sound card. I don't know if its damaged or a software problem but this is really frustrating. I'm thinking of just going back to onboard (ugh :shadedshu ) and spending my next pay-cheque on an Xonar.
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I had issues when I had my forte close to my video card. It was picking up a lot of EMI from the cards. The Forte seems to be super sensitive to it. Even my Audigy 2 didn't have those issues. I moved it to my bottom slot, and the problem disappeared. These things really should have a factory EMI shield.
  14. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    My Forte is right beside underneath 5850... did you test out other slots before you chose the very bottom? Unfortunately my Asus M3A78-T motherboard's lowest PCIe slot is only 2 slots away the 5850. Would this be far enough?
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Yeah, that should be far enough. It is only when a single slot away that I have problems. If you have problems after moving it, it might be RMA time.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page