1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange Score In 3dMark06... Help!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by MZ3692, Apr 8, 2006.

  1. MZ3692 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    Recently, I have been testing my gaming rig which has an AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ overclocked to 2.508GHZ (It is a dual-core), 2GB of G.SKILL DDR456 memory and a single ATI Radeon X1900XT oveclocked to 668mhz/774mhz using a combination of "overclocker" and ATI Overdrive. I just tested my machine with 3dMark06 at default settings with a resolution of 1280 x 1024. My score was a paltry 4768! I think this is quite a bit too low for my system. Also, the CPU section of the benchmark had incredible slowdown. Is there something wrong with this score? If so, how can I fix it?
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,410 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    TBH in 2006 4768 is a damn good score although I think UR right in as much as I would expect you with that rig to get a bit better, not having the power you have I can only guess but I would think around 5000, in 2006 you can preview other scores, see if you can see a similar system to your rig to compare. Do you close down your background programmes before you run the test? for example, anti-virus, Internet security etc etc. If not give that a try as they will be using some system resources.
  3. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    2006 is rather crap, i wouldnt worry about it. 2006 is only really useful for testing your card for in extreme circumstances. try using FEARs built-in benchmark, its far more intensive than 3dmark.
  4. MZ3692 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    Thanks guys. I'll keep trying to reach 5000!
  5. MZ3692 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    Is this score because an X1900 can't do SM3.0? :confused:
  6. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    err.....an x1900 can do sm3......
  7. MZ3692 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    Sorry, my bad...:eek:
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    np, stuff frequently blurrs into one with me, you just got lucky today :D
  9. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    don't forget, having tight RAM timings can certainly have a big effect on your 3Dmark score... in 05 I got 5200 while at 2.5-4-4-8 and then over 6K with 2.5-3-3-8. If you're really obsessed with benchmarking, go sell your Gskill stuff and get some nice XMS
  10. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    He has 2GB, not 1GB. though he probably can squeeze CAS 2.5 at his current settings and that will help with memory writes greatly, and memory writes matter far more than read speeds anyway.
  11. MZ3692 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    My current memory timings are 3-3-3-7 at ddr456. My system crahed like crazy and there was a blue screen of death when I set it to 2.5-3-3-7 and also at 3-3-2-7. Can you guys help? I don't know a lot about setting stable memory timings.
  12. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    if you can get a pic of the memory timing options you can adjust with your asus i can help :cool:
  13. MZ3692 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    Hold up, im restarting
  14. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    ok. :cool:
  15. MZ3692 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    Sorry, I had to eat dinner, no screenshot but here it goes,

    DRAM Configuration​

    Timing Mode- Manual
    Memclock Index Value (Mhz)- 400Mhz
    CAS# Latency (Tcl)-3
    Min RAS# active time (Tras)-7T
    RAS# to CAS# delay (Trcd)-3T
    Row precharge time (Trp)-3T
    Row cycle time (Trc)-16T
    Row refresh cycle time (Trfc)-18T
    Read-to-Write time (Trwt)-4T
    Write Recovery time (Twr)-3T
    1T/2T Memory Timing-2T
    S/W DRAM Over 4G Remapping-Enabled
    H/W DRAM Over 4G Remapping-Enabled
    Here's link to my exact RAM-http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820231021
    I haven't manually set any voltage yet.
    Sorry, I never really seemed to get this stuff. Please help make my system run faster.
  16. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Right ok start with these timings and test (ill list in order you listed) 2.5-11-4-4-20-20-3-3-3 2.6, 2.7 or 2.8v. kinda loose, but right now we want to see if the modules can handle CAS 2.5. also get rid of any ram divider you may be running and try a simple 1:1 ratio with a 10x multiplier and HTT\FSB (whichever you want to call it) @ 250x2 = DDR500
  17. MZ3692 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    OK, Im trying rite now. If it doesn't work, I clear CMOS
  18. MZ3692 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    Nope. It didn't work... There was a blue screen of death.. the error message was
    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
  19. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    did you try2.8v? if you did swap the modules position, ie put stick 1 in stick 2s slot. if that doesnt work try putting stick 1 in slot C (the unoccupied slot next to it) and stick 2 in slot D, again if that doesnt work try putting stick 1 in slot d and stick 2 in slot C.
  20. MZ3692 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York
    I was using 2.6 volts because people say that the RAM I use works best at low voltage. Also, if I can't get it to 2.5, is there a way for me to tighten up the CAS 3 timings?
  21. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    use 2.8v, i have tccd and that like low voltage, but 2.6v is extremely low.
  22. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    interesting about the huge leap with fast memory timings.. i find that memory timngs make vitually no difference in most things with the amd 64 chip.. they dont in 2005.. i wonder if 2006 is gonna prove me wrong.. he he..

    i know i am getting penalized in 2006 for only having asingle core cpu.. and i aint sure by how much..

    i get just over 5000 with a single core chip at 2.9 gig and a x1900xtx card at 690/800..

    memory running at about 420mhz with cas 3 timings..

    just gonna up my timings to cas 2.5 and see what difference it makes.. ??

    cant go any tighter cos i know the memory wont have it..

    trog
  23. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,119 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,126
    Har gimmie time and I will break the 5K mark too. :D
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  24. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    okay.. time for some myth destroying..

    three 2006 runs.. with amd 64 single core based system.. single x19000xtx grfx card.. ccc overdrive at 690/800

    run one cpu at 2.9 gig.. memory about 420 at cas 3 and 1T..

    2006 score.. 5237..

    run two cpu at 2.9 gig.. memory about 420 at cas 2.5 and 1T..

    2006 score.. 5239..

    run three cpu at 2.4 gig.. memory about 370 at cas 2.5 and 1T..

    2006 score.. 5166..

    soooo.. it seems faster memory timing make bugger all difference in 2006..

    slowing the cpu speed down by a massive 500mhz and slowing the memory down by 50mhz or so loses me about 70 odd 2006 points..

    sooo 2006 aint gonna prove me wrong at all.. assuming my machine aint some kinda wonder machine that differs from all other basic amd 64 systems.. its all pretty much down to the grfx card just like it is with 2005..

    that loss of 70 point would be mostly down to a lower cpu score.. soo it seems messing with memory timings with the amd 64 chip is a waste of time..

    trog
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2006
  25. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I was never talking about games specifically, anybody knows games now are largely VC limited, I was talking for other tasks latencies like CAS matter a lot as it effects memory write speeds more than most other timings. I guess a good example to give is play doom3\quake4, any game that has to load a lot with ultra quality mode, and for example, notice the loading time differences with say 8x315 3-4-4-8 and 9x280 2.5-3-3-8. The increased memory read speed @ 280 lays waste to the higher RAM frequency settings.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page