1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange Stock Cpu Temp

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by sfxhewitt, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    I have got a asus p5n-e sli with a Q6600 and my stock temp for my cpu is around 54c is that normal ?

    [​IMG]
  2. Laurijan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    That totally ok.. in the specs a Q6600 as i recall has a temp max of 71C
  3. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    oh great so im looking to overclock this thing what are my limits temp wise ....
  4. Supreme0verlord New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    696 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    That does seem very high, are you sure the heatsink is seated properly? Although I've never had an Intel CPU so I wouldn't know how high or low they are supposed to idle.

    Edit: Is that the temp when you put the processor under load?
  5. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,032 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    yeah man, a q6600 shouldn't be running +50c at stock temps. Do you have a aftermarket heatsink or are you running the stock heatsink the q6600 came with?
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  6. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    its a stock heatsink
  7. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,032 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    Is the heatsink clean(the fins on it clear of dust)? What kind of case do you have? Do you have the computer in a cabinet closed up so it can't get good air flow?
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  8. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    its in an open air space the case is gigabyte triton i think and the heatsink is clean
  9. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,032 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    BTW, dont try to OC it until you can get better temperatures for it. Your already running hotter than I would be comfortable running. Here's my C2D e8400's temps, and it's OC'ed from 3.0 to 3.88.

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  10. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    wtf why my temps so high! and are u running windows 7 there lol
  11. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,032 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    did you install the heatsink? If so, how long has it been and what thermal paste did you use?

    yes, that's windows7 64bit beta
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  12. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    i didnt build the pc i bought it off ebay but indicated what specs i wanted so i assume the cpu has been installed properly
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    Durring shipping the tim could have gotten shifted, also dont compare your temps to the E8400 its a whole different bird.

    Secondly get CPU-z and give us a screen shot, I have a feeling it may be a B3 stepping instead of a G0 stepping, which would make the CPU a furnace at stock.

    Get another cooler on it if you plan to Oc the Q6600 a lot, the stock heatsink will not handle the heat output that that Quad is capable of putting out!
  14. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    i'd say that temp is much to high ,this is my Q6600 (altho its not using stock cooling Freezer 7 Pro)

    Attached Files:

  15. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    [​IMG]
  16. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,284 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  17. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    core voltage looks to be way to high as well considering its at stock speeds..

    mine is at 3.15v according to cpuz and i upped it for overclocking.
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    1.4V is a bit much to the CPU too isnt it?

    It is in fact a G0 wich should be cooler, I'd try reseating the cooler if I was you. dont forget you will need to replace the Thermal interface material on the bottom of the heatsink. Aside from lowering the CPU voltage, I feel doing both could lower temps.
  19. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    right ok well i got some paste laying about someware ill reseat it and see what happens ill report back soon thanks
  20. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    also i can still reply to your posts im on my laptop
  21. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,032 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    well don't assume. I personally would go buy a good aftermarket heatsink for it, especailly if you want to OC. The ximatek 1283(http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835233012) is some of the best coolers you can get, and are pretty inexpensive(about $40 USD). Also I would suggest getting a retention backet(http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835233027) for it(it'll give it a better seal against the CPU). I would also get some quality thermal compound, either artic silver is what I use (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835100009)
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  22. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    right well ill just test the seating first
  23. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,032 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    that is the very least I would do right now. But I would get the cooler before trying to OC. Like already said, the stock cooler can't handle the heat of the q6600 when OC'ing it.
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  24. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    looking inside the pc now and the cpu + heatsink are plastered in dust lol
  25. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,032 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,935
    and yeah, 1.4 volts at stock speeds, I've never had a q6600 but that seems really high. I would try reducing that in your bio's. I would think a q6600 could do stock speeds at 1.2 volts or less.
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page