1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange Stock Cpu Temp

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by sfxhewitt, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    I have got a asus p5n-e sli with a Q6600 and my stock temp for my cpu is around 54c is that normal ?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,251 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    352
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    That totally ok.. in the specs a Q6600 as i recall has a temp max of 71C
     
  3. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    oh great so im looking to overclock this thing what are my limits temp wise ....
     
  4. Supreme0verlord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    696 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    That does seem very high, are you sure the heatsink is seated properly? Although I've never had an Intel CPU so I wouldn't know how high or low they are supposed to idle.

    Edit: Is that the temp when you put the processor under load?
     
  5. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,050
    yeah man, a q6600 shouldn't be running +50c at stock temps. Do you have a aftermarket heatsink or are you running the stock heatsink the q6600 came with?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    its a stock heatsink
     
  7. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,050
    Is the heatsink clean(the fins on it clear of dust)? What kind of case do you have? Do you have the computer in a cabinet closed up so it can't get good air flow?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    its in an open air space the case is gigabyte triton i think and the heatsink is clean
     
  9. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,050
    BTW, dont try to OC it until you can get better temperatures for it. Your already running hotter than I would be comfortable running. Here's my C2D e8400's temps, and it's OC'ed from 3.0 to 3.88.

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    wtf why my temps so high! and are u running windows 7 there lol
     
  11. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,050
    did you install the heatsink? If so, how long has it been and what thermal paste did you use?

    yes, that's windows7 64bit beta
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    i didnt build the pc i bought it off ebay but indicated what specs i wanted so i assume the cpu has been installed properly
     
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,610 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    Durring shipping the tim could have gotten shifted, also dont compare your temps to the E8400 its a whole different bird.

    Secondly get CPU-z and give us a screen shot, I have a feeling it may be a B3 stepping instead of a G0 stepping, which would make the CPU a furnace at stock.

    Get another cooler on it if you plan to Oc the Q6600 a lot, the stock heatsink will not handle the heat output that that Quad is capable of putting out!
     
  14. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    i'd say that temp is much to high ,this is my Q6600 (altho its not using stock cooling Freezer 7 Pro)
     

    Attached Files:

  15. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    [​IMG]
     
  16. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,414 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,613
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  17. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    core voltage looks to be way to high as well considering its at stock speeds..

    mine is at 3.15v according to cpuz and i upped it for overclocking.
     
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,610 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    1.4V is a bit much to the CPU too isnt it?

    It is in fact a G0 wich should be cooler, I'd try reseating the cooler if I was you. dont forget you will need to replace the Thermal interface material on the bottom of the heatsink. Aside from lowering the CPU voltage, I feel doing both could lower temps.
     
  19. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    right ok well i got some paste laying about someware ill reseat it and see what happens ill report back soon thanks
     
  20. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    also i can still reply to your posts im on my laptop
     
  21. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,050
    well don't assume. I personally would go buy a good aftermarket heatsink for it, especailly if you want to OC. The ximatek 1283(http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835233012) is some of the best coolers you can get, and are pretty inexpensive(about $40 USD). Also I would suggest getting a retention backet(http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835233027) for it(it'll give it a better seal against the CPU). I would also get some quality thermal compound, either artic silver is what I use (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835100009)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    right well ill just test the seating first
     
  23. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,050
    that is the very least I would do right now. But I would get the cooler before trying to OC. Like already said, the stock cooler can't handle the heat of the q6600 when OC'ing it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    looking inside the pc now and the cpu + heatsink are plastered in dust lol
     
  25. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,050
    and yeah, 1.4 volts at stock speeds, I've never had a q6600 but that seems really high. I would try reducing that in your bio's. I would think a q6600 could do stock speeds at 1.2 volts or less.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page