1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange Stock Cpu Temp

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by sfxhewitt, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,030 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,926
    I asked you that already. Oh well, I'll bet that's your problem. Get a can of compressed air and blow out the heatsink.
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  2. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    would high temps cause the pc to run slower ?
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,173 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    No,i dont think so.it might help if you replace the cooler though.
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,284 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    They can cause hardware failures and the Dreaded BSOD
  5. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,030 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,926
    Over time, it will cause your CPU to slowly burn out causing your CPU's performance to deteriorate is my understanding.
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  6. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,173 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    I suppose if its running hotter,it could cause premature failure of the chip/board too.
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    If your overheating yes, it could potentially cause lag while gaming and doing cpu intensive tasks. Also 1.4v is mediocre for an OVERCLOCKED 65nm cpu. I bet the previous owner didn't bother to clean it out and instead bumped the voltage to stable the system.
  8. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    checked the paste and it was dry as a bone
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,173 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    Try repasting the cooler for now,but you should replace that stock cooler though really.


    5K posts yaaaaaaaaaay
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Exactly as I thought, was just that the previous owner neglected the system. Clean everything out? Hows it running now?

    EDIT: Also welcome to TPU! :)

    @Tigger

    CONGRATS!!!!
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2009
  11. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    here is my temps after repasted

    [​IMG]
  12. kyle2020 Guest

    im sorry but 1.4V is WAY too high for stock speeds, you should be looking at around 1.2-1.3V for stock (dependant on VID).

    Try lowering that core voltage, I use 1.408 for 3.6Ghz nevermind stock! :eek:
  13. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    so what should i lower it too ? 1.2 or 1.3
  14. kyle2020 Guest

    I can achieve stock @ 1.2V, so try 1.25 - if post fails bump it up a notch, like 1.275 or something.
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  16. Laurijan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Interesting! I wonder why the heck would Intel would post 1.5v on their site ... **truly confuzzled**
  18. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    592 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Romania
    First try latest RealTemp 2.90 RC9 and don't worry if you'll see 5°C more. :)
    Second try to lower your Vcore as those guys told you already.
    Third idle temp means nothing, try a load with prime95 Small FTTs and put a screenshot.
  19. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Here is my results and they are awfull the first picture is the vcore at stock and second picture is vcore at 1.25


    [​IMG] [​IMG]
  20. kyle2020 Guest

    woah, so stock coolers = bad idea for full load work! Id recommend an aftermarket HSF mate, something like the Xigmatek HDT-S1283 or the TRUE.
  21. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    the true ?
  22. kyle2020 Guest

  23. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    lol no im from uk dont you know were liverpool is capital of culture 08 :D
  24. kyle2020 Guest

    see above mate ;)

    lets hope they can go top saturday! bloody united, poxy goals in the last few minutes, yet again :shadedshu
  25. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    haha yeh :p

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page