1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange Stock Cpu Temp

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by sfxhewitt, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,060 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,965
    I asked you that already. Oh well, I'll bet that's your problem. Get a can of compressed air and blow out the heatsink.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    would high temps cause the pc to run slower ?
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,177 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    No,i dont think so.it might help if you replace the cooler though.
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,288 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    They can cause hardware failures and the Dreaded BSOD
  5. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,060 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,965
    Over time, it will cause your CPU to slowly burn out causing your CPU's performance to deteriorate is my understanding.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,177 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    I suppose if its running hotter,it could cause premature failure of the chip/board too.
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    If your overheating yes, it could potentially cause lag while gaming and doing cpu intensive tasks. Also 1.4v is mediocre for an OVERCLOCKED 65nm cpu. I bet the previous owner didn't bother to clean it out and instead bumped the voltage to stable the system.
  8. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    checked the paste and it was dry as a bone
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,177 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    Try repasting the cooler for now,but you should replace that stock cooler though really.


    5K posts yaaaaaaaaaay
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Exactly as I thought, was just that the previous owner neglected the system. Clean everything out? Hows it running now?

    EDIT: Also welcome to TPU! :)

    @Tigger

    CONGRATS!!!!
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2009
  11. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    here is my temps after repasted

    [​IMG]
  12. kyle2020 Guest

    im sorry but 1.4V is WAY too high for stock speeds, you should be looking at around 1.2-1.3V for stock (dependant on VID).

    Try lowering that core voltage, I use 1.408 for 3.6Ghz nevermind stock! :eek:
  13. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    so what should i lower it too ? 1.2 or 1.3
  14. kyle2020 Guest

    I can achieve stock @ 1.2V, so try 1.25 - if post fails bump it up a notch, like 1.275 or something.
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  16. Laurijan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Interesting! I wonder why the heck would Intel would post 1.5v on their site ... **truly confuzzled**
  18. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    593 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Romania
    First try latest RealTemp 2.90 RC9 and don't worry if you'll see 5°C more. :)
    Second try to lower your Vcore as those guys told you already.
    Third idle temp means nothing, try a load with prime95 Small FTTs and put a screenshot.
  19. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Here is my results and they are awfull the first picture is the vcore at stock and second picture is vcore at 1.25


    [​IMG] [​IMG]
  20. kyle2020 Guest

    woah, so stock coolers = bad idea for full load work! Id recommend an aftermarket HSF mate, something like the Xigmatek HDT-S1283 or the TRUE.
  21. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    the true ?
  22. kyle2020 Guest

  23. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    lol no im from uk dont you know were liverpool is capital of culture 08 :D
  24. kyle2020 Guest

    see above mate ;)

    lets hope they can go top saturday! bloody united, poxy goals in the last few minutes, yet again :shadedshu
  25. sfxhewitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    haha yeh :p

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page