1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

stream video to tv

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by jjupiter, Mar 13, 2013.

1. jjupiter New Member

Thanks Received:
    hi everybody, i`m a newbie here great forum, just would like to know if anybody has view on me wanting to stream hdmi to my tv. on this computer there is no hdmi output. i kinda dont really want to spend too much seeing as i would not use the video card on the computer for much. does anyone know if a Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1 GB PCI Express video card would be ok for the job. thanx
    jj
  2. Kreij

Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    Welcome to TPU, jjupiter. :toast:

What video card do you have in your computer now? You may be able to do DVI to HDMI with an adapter. I did that on my old 4870x2 and it worked great.
    jjupiter says thanks.
  3. jjupiter New Member

Thanks Received:
    thanx

hi thanx for the welcome and reply.it is a nvidia ge force 6150 se n force 430
  4. newtekie1

newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

Thanks Received:
    I'd go with something from the 400/500/600 series of cards. Their built in sound card makes connecting via HDMI a lot easier. The GT610 is only about $40 and will do the job nicely.
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  5. jjupiter New Member

Thanks Received:
    wow fast info

hi and thanx for the reply so fast .this is great .i dont know much about all this streaming and have the big screen and thought i would try it out. i dont want to move my desktop so i was thinking to just cable it to the tv.just trying the options.i guess i dont need much in the way of any other special components to do this card and cable will do?thanx again
  6. Kreij

Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

Thanks Received: