1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Suggest me 775 mATX mobo

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Krazy Owl, Apr 4, 2013.

  1. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Hi.

    I am looking for a mATX socket 775 motherboard with DDR2 that can handle dualcore or even better a quadcore.

    I already have here a dualcore, the DDR2, the sata hdd, the pci-e gpu. My last mobo blowed up so i will search on ebay based on your past experiences and suggestions.

    Thank you
  2. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    check on ebay for a cheap DDR3 775 board so you can get a cheap 4gb stick of ddr3 1333 and then a 775 quad and another 4gb when you decide to upgrade again.
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,415 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Aye anything with DDR3 really. I took a quick looksie and it seems you being in Canadanada complicates things a bit.. Shipping seems a bit high. You could make a WTB-thread in the BuySellTrade forum here and see if anyone has something of interest.
  4. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,408 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Any intel ICH9R chipset G33 board should do you really, you will get Multicore support, x16 PCI-E, DDR2 upto 1066Mhz, Sata 3Gbs etc etc, I would recommend........

    http://uk.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=2534#sp

    Had one ages back, rock solid and a decent overclocker...... all you have to do is find one! They are widely available used on UK EBay but can't speak for you foreigners :)
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013
    Krazy Owl says thanks.
  5. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Thanks Tatty. You seem to be the only one who understand that I only looked to change the motherboard and do not expense on memory hehehe
  6. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    Just make sure you check the CPU compatability list most cheap 775 boards only have 3 phase voltage regulators so can only support up to a 95w CPU.
  7. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,408 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I think these have six, can't remember for sure however as they support 65nm quadcores such as the Q6600 upwards and extremes they will be handling 135W TDP plus some so there should be no worries there, I ran a Q6600 on mine at 4gig.
  8. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,704 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,841
    Location:
    Oregon
    IntelĀ® G41 Express Chipset Gigabyte
  9. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    802 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    243
    There are still a couple of boards available that match your requirements, such as this one
    ASRock G31M-GS R2.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - ... (but half of them arrived DOA). A much better choice would be this board GIGABYTE GA-G41MT-S2PT Micro ATX Intel Motherboard... (but you'd have to spend another $40 on DDR3) I'd avoid MSI boards in this segment, the one I had was a disaster (G41M-P26), overheating the north bridge whenever gaming. Eventually I wised up and quit throwing away good $ on old platforms and built my present rig (Asus P8Z77-V, i5-3570K, 8Gb 2400 DDR3).
  10. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    There are some g41 boards that support ddr2 and ddr3 one of them would be a good choice for future upgrades.
  11. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I just put my hand on a Asrock G41C-S that someone gave me. Thinking the pci-e was broken but it was only the dust making it fail :p
  12. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    Nice one
  13. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Finally the mobo died after installation. Shit I'm not lucky on this one.
  14. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    Check all the capacitors on the board one might have ruptured or be bulging on the top.
  15. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    No. Its fully dead. Sent it to electronic waste already.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page