1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Suggestion for fx-8350...??

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Rickkins, Oct 31, 2012.

  1. Rickkins

    Rickkins

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    34 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thinking about the 8350, and looking for mb suggestions. I'm not a gamer so I don't need an mb that is specifically designed for that. I have an amd 6570 vid card which does what I need. I use the box as a home cinema device and no issues with the current card. I also have the sound blaster titanium card, to drive my z-5500.

    I'm currently running the 8150 on a Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H v3

    Realistically, I have no real need to upgrade...but, you know....

    Thanks.
  2. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    if u wanna get some noticeable performance increases u need to go Intel.upgrading from a 8150 to a 8350 cpu is stupid
  3. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    192 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Location:
    Near North Pole
    Did you even read?


    I personally like the GA-990FXA-UD3. Not too costly and got a lot of feature.
    adulaamin and Rickkins say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Garage1217

    Garage1217

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    138 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Az
    With daily programs and non gaming you will not really notice a difference between a 955 and an i7. And there will most likely be no noticeable difference between the 8150 and 8350 with basic computing tasks feel wise. But if you want to toss some cash, I totally understand lol I upgrade a LOT too :) I see you have an SSD. Now they are NOTICEABLE upgrades. SSD upgrades, ram timing tweaks and registry tweaks are my #1 feel improvements in a system.
  5. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,011 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Location:
    Central Israel
    I would strongly advise that you do not make that CPU upgrade,but back on topic,that is a solid board and unless you require more connectivety than it offers it will be just fine paired with a 8350 (make sure to update bios though)
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,488 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,898
    For what you use the computer for, I see no reason to upgrade at all. If anything you could "downgrade" to a Vishera four core or six core CPU instead to at least save on a little power consumption.
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Except he asked for a board suggestion, not CPU. :p
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,488 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,898
    I thought the v3 of that mobo worked with BD/PD?

    Bah, crap it doesn't. v3.1 does. :/
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

    Unfortunately, I don't have much to suggest when it comes to motherboards...for single GPU and a good OC, try ASUS M5A99X EVO, that worked quite well for me. Please be sure that there is a BIOS update available for FX-8350 first, of course. I think I saw that there is, but that's just the one important thing you need to consider.


    I haven't had the opportunity to play with many AM3+ boards, I have a Crosshair 5 Formula, but I think that's a bit more than what you are looking for.

    Really, if not overclocking you want some form of AMD 9-series chipset for the best support, and that's about it. Pick your colors of choice. :p
  10. Garage1217

    Garage1217

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    138 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Az
    Nothing wrong with the current mobo if not overclocking. And as pointed out. For home cinema... I see zero reason to upgrade anything. As mentioned, you could literally downgrade and save on power.
  11. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,061 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    869
    I agree with the others. No need to upgrade your hardware.

    If you are feeling an itch to upgrade, upgrade the speakers.
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,887 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I wouldn't touch your rig if I were you. Looks pretty good as it is now. Personally if I did any upgrade, a RAID card for those 1TB WD Greens of yours could be nifty, but that is just me. Do you want to upgrade for the sake of upgrading or is your rig failing you in some way?
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
  14. Rickkins

    Rickkins

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    34 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, thanks guys.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page