1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Suggestions for 16GB DDR3 RAM for this mobo

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by YautjaLord, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    The mainboard is ASUSTek's M4N98TD EVO, which is also the one that will support the Thuban 6-core CPUs with BIOS update v.0603. The thing is - this beast supports DDR3 2000 (OC) RAM as the info page says+i think it supports either AMD BlackEdition or SLI-Ready RAM. Going over BE or SLI-Ready RAM is also another issue, but most important thing for me is any good DDR3 1600 RAM banks, prefferably in 4x4GB configuration. Why so ? For Vista 64-bit SP2 among other things, but 1st of all cause i think to myself - why not, since this mobo supports upto 16GB of DDR3 RAM. Currently googled for such info & only found out info bout either 24GB of DDR3 RAM or 16GB of DDR3 RAM courtsey of Corsair, Dominator series. The prob is 24GB support X58 Intel's chipset, while 16GB support P55. Putting Intel memory with AMD CPU & mobo is probably not advised. :laugh:

    If you have any good suggestions for this issue, i will greatly appreciate this. Thanx all. :rockout:
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2010
  2. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,954 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,512
    as long as the memory is dual channel it's fine, and im almost positive it is. amd or intel or ppc it's ram, there is no difference.

    that being said, why not you ask? the price tag. are you ready to spend $600USD on RAM? especially when it will not make a lick of difference for 90% of users. if you don't do video/audio rendering or hardcore imaging/photoshop/illustrator more than 6-8 is unnecessary. and for most people more than 4 is unnecessary.
     
  3. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,658 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    574
  4. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Not just for gaming but also for video editing (you probably meant editing, not rendering right ?) & probably Photoshop. But yeah, i know "just" for gaming 16GB is overkill, unless it's Metro 2033 or Crysis 2. :) Hope i gave decent answer. I will need all this amount of RAM, cause i don't want to stumble upon situation like when i have all 4 banks full with 2GB of RAM in each slot only to realise that some rare app will run better with 16GB rather than 8GB of RAM. I coming back from Wacken this year & i'll have a cam full of footage of 20+ (!) metal/rock/punk bands to edit !!!!! 16GB is crucial, dude.

    P.S. In August prices will hopefully get lower & that will be the time when i'll strike. :laugh: Thanx for warning dude, nevertheless.

    G.Skill is one of those that i'm tempted by, but Corsair might be better i bet. And yeah i know P55, SLI, AMD BE-ready is a gimmick, but something might still improve nevertheless : when you have 2 GeForces in SLI (nevermind which) & EPP RAM it will contribute a bit more to performance i think. Besides there still time for it - i preparing myself for now, the actual purchase will only happen in August. Thanx for input nevertheless. :toast: you all.
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  5. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    All I have to say is that I think you are severely misinformed, and that you should do some research before even thinking about 16gb of RAM... unless you work with billions of polygons and stuff, 16gb is totally useless
     
  6. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,187 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    588
    Just to stop you right there. Reason not to:

    1) Memory timings
    2) CPU-NB speed

    Both of those will be worse with more memory sticks not to mention the 4GB sticks.
     
  7. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    I could've use 2x4GB DDR3 RAM with CAS7 or 8 1600MHz instead, but the prob is there's no such thing listed anywhere on web no matter how hard i looked for it. I'm not person who loves to repeat, but - there's still time for it, right now i just asking. The actual purchase will only occur in 1st or 2nd half of August, atmost in beginning of September. There's still s***load of time. :)

    If you have something to suggest, i'll listen to it gladly. Help is much appreciated. :toast:
     
  8. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,187 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    588
    There still is time but there are only a few ram chip makers making ddr3 and not too many announcements about 4gb chips.

    Also, 1600mhz with all 4 dimm slots filled is not going to happen with the volts needed for daily. I'm pretty sure I've read somewhere about this with AMD. Probably over on XS. If it is anywhere that would be the best place to do some research.
     
  9. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    ^Visited XtremeSystems more than a few times when googled for infos like that but never seen anything bout 2x4GB of RAM. Yeah i'm talking bout 2 sticks 4GB each. The thing i saw more than too f***ing often were rants & "steaming" about "why would you want such amount ?/this is overkill/bla-bla-bla"............. :laugh: Never minded good laughs. Though i bet TPU & XS more then often are the sources for knowing anything bout tech stuff, true.

    Tell you what - whether you agree or not, by the time August will come i bet 8 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM will be if not necessity, than crucial. Especially with Vista 64-bit, gaming, Windows Media Center, video editing (remember i have 20+ bands to tape @ Wacken, edit & upload to YouTube) & - possibly - heavy Photoshop use (i thinking bout learning to build & import custom models into any FPS i have, in that editor as well as regular in-game editors, like UnrealEd3, SandBox2, etc.. + generally editing in Photoshop.). I'll need all this amount of RAM by then. Currently have 4GB DDRII 1066MHz & the PC is still struggling in few apps/games, though on occasion. Suggest instead of asking why i need such insane & unjustified amount of RAM for now & remember - i'm asking, not buying right now. That would be definitelly insane & i know it WAAAAAAYYYY more than you do. :toast:

    *EDIT*

    Found something : 8 out of 16GB & it's in 2x4GB not 4x2GB config, 2 sticks 4GB each. Whatd'ya know after i searched Newegg i actually found what i was looking for. Tell me if those are good :

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231314

    Tell me if those good performers or not & if any of you have or had personal experience with this pair.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2010
  10. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Dude, 2x4GB, NOT other way around !!!!!!! 2x4GB DDR3, NOT 4x2GB, 2 sticks of 4GB, not 4 sticks of 2GB. And besides, look @ the topic - 4x4GB DDR3. What are you saying bout those G.Skills i posted here ? Had the experience with 'em ? If not you than one of your friends had the experience with those ?

    P.S. I hope the price will get lower by August for those & the rest of DDR3 RAM in general. What do you think ?
     
  11. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,954 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,512
    not those specifically but GSkill is a very good brand, in my experience.
     
    YautjaLord says thanks.
  12. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
  13. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,187 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    588
    What apps are you using that are slowing you down at 4GB? Are you just running a lot of them at once?

    Just because x64 getting a more support thanks to Vista and 7 doesn't mean that memory use by programs will change. You still need x64 programs to take advantage of more than 2GB in x64 Vista and 7. Dice has been the only game developer to mention any hints at a x64 game and that is BF3 which isn't due out until next year sometime.

    Don't get me wrong. I'm all for fast 4GB sticks cause you are right in that is the direction things are heading but prices need to come down and programs need to migrate to x64 for that to happen.
     
  14. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,298 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but running dual channel is better than running single channel?
    Of course the more mem you have the slower the speed.
    4gb runs slower than 1 gb sticks in general.
    but i think it'd be better to run 4x4gb than 2x4gb sticks.
    Or does dual channel not work that way? Pretty sure it does. XD
     
  15. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Just say you are sceptic bout my question currently, will ya ? :laugh:

    Tell you what - i'll wait til ALL of you have something good to suggest, or better yet wait til TPU or any other tech site (Guru3D, AnandTech, etc...) will have review of fast 4x4GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM by end of July & then revisit this thread, deal ? I guess it's still way too early to ask questions like this. :( GOTCHA !!!!!! :laugh:

    See you all by the end of July, then we'll cook with gas. Lower priced 16(4x4)GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM by the end of July FTW !!!! But you better suggest instead of asking why i have to use that amount of RAM by that time. :rockout:

    P.S. I am lazy & stubborn person i admit - once i get a tick in my head saying me to start worrying bout certain things, i'm stuck with it. And as to your question which apps slow my PC down - Skype, NVidia Control Panel, Crysis & you won't beleive it - vanilla S.T.A.L.K.E.R. in few levels, especially in Duty's Arena. Hope that answers your question.

    P.P.S. Lately i don't have STALKER, uninstalled it as much as i loved to play it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2010
  16. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,187 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    588
    Don't get me wrong. I would love to see a 3x4gb 1600 CL8 low voltage kit at current 2x2gb kit prices so I could move up to 12GB on my i7. I think Mushkin and Corsair once annouced 8GB and 12GB kits with 2 dimms and 1600mhz CL8 or 7 while being low voltage. Problem is, I've never been able to find them other then on their site.

    Yes dual is better than single.
    Not necessarily. Yes there was a time when 1GB sticks were faster than 2GB sticks. Now 2GB sticks are just as fast and 4GB sticks are the "slow" ones. Give it about a year or so and that will change too.
    2x4gb is better than 4x4gb:

    Less voltage needed for same memory controller speed regardless whether Intel or AMD
    Being able to run tighter timings on 2 dimms than 4 dimms which is very important on AMD
    With 4 sticks, regardless, you get nailed with a latency penalty just because you have 2 extra dimms the cpu needs to "look at" for sending info in and out.
    If you run 4 dimms your running 2 dimms per channel in dual.

    You'd be better off running two 4GB sticks than four especially if its an AMD. All of these insanely fast memory speed we are seeing are currently only possible on the Intel i chips. I'm hoping to see AMD do something with the memory controller performance with the Thuban chips. Current AMD chips your going to be capped at about 800 to 900 on the ram speed. Only way that happens is if you get a chip with a good memory controller and it plays well with hypers. AFAIK, hypers don't come in 4GB density sticks from anyone and no one has announced any plans to either.
     
  17. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    ^3x2GB, 3x4GB is reserved for i7s, being it's a triple channel, not common thing for AMD-based mobos. Dude - M4N82 & M4N98TD EVO are for AMD & those support dual (not triple) channel DDR3 setup, DDR3 2000 (OC) in M4N98TD EVO's case. Do your math mate !!!!!!!!!!! :laugh:

    By the August i probably purchase the RAM. Also bout all 4 banks filled with 4GB sticks & latency-wise : the more your CPU/RAM is overclocking-friendly, less the latency is an issue. I hope this will be the case for me in August.

    Back to topic : currently you say to me - dude get over with it, max that you deserve is 2 sticks of DDR3 1600MHz RAM 4GB each, right ? :laugh: Mushkin or Corsair if the later will release the 2x4GB config ? Which of the 2 i should go for ?
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2010
  18. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    680 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page