1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Suggestions for good SATA2 HDD to run RAID

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Trung, Jul 11, 2007.

  1. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can anyone recommend any good hard drives with at least 16mb cache to run RAID with 250GB capacity???
     
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
  3. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'll be running my comp for long periods of time do you think the HDD will be able to handle the stress
     
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yes. It's intended for enterprise use. (Servers)
     
  5. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Second Wile E suggestion,I have two of those in raid0 and no problems with them at all.

    My comp runs 24/7 and have had no worries with them,also they are quite cheap and relatively quiet.
     
  6. FOXCONN1115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Rhode Island, USA
  7. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh ok what about the NS and SV series, what do you think of them...i heard there pretty good too....do you guys know anything about them???
     
  8. FOXCONN1115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Rhode Island, USA
    i honestly haven't tried them or heard anything on them, however seagate drives are usually awesome no matter what model you get.. i have an older sata1.5gb drive still running no problems, over 3 years old
     
  9. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm just afraid that if i get an oem HDD, and it blows or whatever on me in 6 months i cant return it.....i havent had much luck this year hahaha...anyways back to the subject, are there any other brands that manufacture HDDs that are good....although i'm leaning towards the seagate but good to have some choices available
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    OEM just means that it doesn't come in a retail box, and doesn't include a SATA cable. The OEM Seagates still carry their 5yr warranty. I only buy OEM drives. I'm not paying extra money, just to have a cable I don't need and a fancy box.

    Western Digital is another manufacturer to consider, tho the Seagates outperform them at this point.
     
  11. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok thanks heaps, i dont know which one yet but i'll take into consideration all your suggestions....probably end up buying the one you guys suggested haha...thanks heaps everybody...if there are anymore suggestions feel free to add.
     
  12. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    If that's the situation and you wonder if they can handle it don't stripe, use actual RAID, I'd recommend 5.
     
  13. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I was going to run 3 HDDs but not for awhile...it would set me back to much....so at the moment i'm going with only 2 HDDs with RAID 0.

    RAID 5 is using 3 HDDs...correct me if i'm wrong not to familiar with RAID......but they are all mirroring so if 1 of 3 HDD failed then the system will allow time for the failed HDD to be replaced right...and the data will not be vulnerable until a second HDD fails and definitely both drives must be replaced before data lost....but can i ask how does it make the system quicker...are they striping on all 3 drives???? I think i'm way off base hahaha, correct me if i'm worng please.
     
  14. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    http://www.acnc.com/04_01_05.html

    RAID 5, very well illustrated and explained.
    Btw I third (or fourth) the reccomendation of the Seagate 7200.10, Ive got two atm and im about to get a third. Im very impressed with them :).
     
  15. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    RAID 0 technically isn't even RAID :) RAID 5 doesn't mirror, it uses 1 (or more) disks as parity disk. 3 is the minimal amount of drives you'd need. Basically data is read and written from/to multiple drives at once, thats how it improves performance as well.
     
  16. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    has anyone seen any good performance comparisons between raid 3 and raid 5? ( i got a dirt cheap netcell based xfx raid card that does raid 3)
     
  17. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    RAID3 is superior when you use large files. It is hardly used though. In most situations RAID5 works better.
    RAID 3 and 5 are technically the same, the only difference being that the parity is on a single disk with RAID3 and with RAID5 it is spread across disks.
    Just stick with RAID5
     
    Grings says thanks.
  18. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,793 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    Location:
    New York
    I am going to 3rd Wile E as I am using them also in raid-0.
     
  19. Trung New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh thanks ex_reven but i was pretty way off base hahaha oh wells i tries lol....so your impressed with the seagate 7200.10 too aye....if you guys think its good i might go with...better to hear it from people who have it then to read specs lol

    So thats RAID 5 aye, hmmm ok for now i'll run with the 0 until i can afford a 3rd drive ahahaha...so poor....so whats with RAID 5+0??
     
  20. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    3 years is old? I have a 4GB 10+ years old still running on my second comp:laugh:
     
  21. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    cheers dan, however this raid card (xfx revo 64, 3 port) only does raid 0, 1 and 3, i'll be giving it a go (raid 3) once my new drive turns up as i have 3 identical 250g drives, but ones in use atm
     
  22. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Yes but is that a high performance drive? :cool:
    Sometimes its the simple things that work best.

    My onboard does 0, 1, 10 and 5...its pretty damn nifty.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 0 (0 members and 0 guests)

Share This Page