1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Suitable 4GB DDR3 to go with existing 4GB?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by doveman, Jul 11, 2012.

  1. doveman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    My Dad's PC currently has this Crucial 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz/PC3-10600 Ballistix Memory Kit CL6 1.8V Crucial 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz/PC3-10600 Ballistix.. | Ebuyer.com

    I want to get him another 4GB (2x2GB) to take him to 8GB, but most currently available sticks seem to be CL9, 1.5V so I'm not sure what I can get that will be compatible.

    I doubt he's running the current sticks at CL6 unless his Asus M4A785TD-V EVO Motherboard ASUS - Motherboards- ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO has auto-set them to that, as he certainly wouldn't have gone in the BIOS and set them manually, so if I can run all four sticks at CL9 that would be fine. I'd still have the issue of the voltage though, if the existing sticks require 1.8v and the new ones 1.5v.

    There's some, like Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz HyperX Blu Memory.. | Ebuyer.com that run at 1.65v though, so maybe I could run them all at that, assuming the voltage can be set manually or maybe the Crucial Ballistix will run fine at 1.5v CL9 and only needs 1.8v to run at CL6, or maybe I can run all four sticks at 1066/CL9 @1.5v?
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,738 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Why not buy the same kit he has to make it uniform and more compatible?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. doveman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Because I can't find it anywhere, not even on Crucial's website, which doesn't list any CL6 1.8V sticks.
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,738 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,212
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Hmmm TBH I would no trust a new style DDR3 with the older higher voltage even a 1.65v kit. You may be better off buying a 2x4GB DDR3 kit and selling the older ram
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. doveman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I guess it would be OK if I can get £15-20 for the existing 4GB. I'm not sure what it's likely to get though as I couldn't find this type on e-bay at all.
     
  6. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
  7. doveman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Thanks but I'm more inclined towards a couple of these Crucial 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz Ballistix Tactical Memory... or Corsair 4GB DDR3 1333MHz Memory Module CL9(9-9-9-2...

    Neither company's website lists those as specifically compatible but I can't see why they wouldn't be and both websites list 8GB kits with 9-9-9-24, 1.5v specs as compatible.

    I'm inclined towards the Corsair as it's £4 cheaper per stick, saving me £8 over the Crucial (around 20%) or £4 over the Kingston. I realise it's only 1333Mhz vs the Crucial 1600Mhz, but I don't believe that will make a noticeable difference (AMD boards won't even run above 1333Mhz without manually tweaking the BIOS (technically overclocking) anyway), even if (one day) we upgrade the processor from the Athlon II X3 425 to a Phenom II X4 955 (or better) and certainly not 20% difference.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page